09.21.2016 A moment in time

That I love spending time in the Quabbin watershed and park is quite apparent, I am sure. It is an odd peace one can find there considering the upheaval to peoples’ lives its creation forced upon them. Despite the history, beauty abounds in the place.  Time is such a challenging concept.  It never repeats itself and we ride its leading edge like birds soaring on a front. But there are moments when it stands still.

quabbin-park-foliage-cove-point-colorful-fog-091616-800

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Landscape, Nature Photography, Quabbin, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to 09.21.2016 A moment in time

  1. I like this one, very much. The layers are wonderful. The hint of pink at the very bottom mirrors that at the top – nice. ‘Despite its history, beauty abounds,’ indeed; a thing which can be said about so many places.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. BeeHappee says:

    This looks so magical!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Gallivanta says:

    I have been googling old photos of the area and looking at the upheaval. I am glad nature has restored peace to the area. The peace comes through in your photo, which is pure Steve Gingold ( with hints of Turner 🙂 )

    Liked by 1 person

  4. shoreacres says:

    Steve, this is a breath-taking image. It looks as though a pastel rainbow has wrapped itself around the world. It has such a painterly feel. One little detail that I really like is the line of rocks just out from the shoreline. Their jaggedness contrasts beautifully with the soft colors.

    And — is that a hint of fall colors I see in the trees, or is it simply the sunlight touching the leaves?

    Liked by 1 person

    • It was breathtaking to witness and exhilarating to capture. Those rocks and the trees on the point are favorite feature for me and I have been working them for a while.

      You are seeing a little of both, Linda. I waited for the sun to break through the clouds to light the trees a bit and one or two of the trees were also showing a touch of color. Each day we are seeing a little more.

      Like

  5. BuntyMcC says:

    Beautiful. Early fall fog.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. selah says:

    Stunning!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Faith says:

    Beautiful, Steve, as is your comment.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Beautywhizz says:

    You have captured that moment of stillness beautifully.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. krikitarts says:

    There’s a subtle, watercolor/pastel feel to this. It works very well with the foggy ambience.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Mystical scenery with the foggy atmosphere. This would make a nice print and or a nice painting I just got curious. Do you sell or ever give permission for an artist to use your photographs?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Yvonne. It shall be printed. Yes I do sell prints of my images. As far as artist requests, I have had a few, but they were by art teachers wanting to allow their students to work from my photographs and I allowed that as an exercise. If an artist wants to use one as a “model” and plans on selling then I would charge. Usually, though, when I mention being paid they lose interest.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yes, everybody wants something for free. Someone in Poland wrote me in two separate comment sections that they wanted to use my mushroom photo in a presentation for kids. (free of course) I have not replied yet because they never said nice post or interesting or whatever. Just asked to use my photo. I know I’m being petty but gee whiz, it just seemed crass but then I am old and getting grouchier by the day. The person with the request did not have a legitimate email- actually there was not one. I thought one had to have an email address in order to comment. (spam?) I know that I have side tracked here a bunch but I needed to complain or not. 🙂

        Like

      • Yeah, I thought there at least has to be something like an address or website. At least the person asked, not that asking has any guarantee of permission. And since the person is not from the USA I am not sure if there would be much we could do about it if they do use it without permission.
        Maybe he or she thought asking was praise. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • I reckon in the grand scheme of things I really don’t care it is my feeling that it was done in a callous way. There are about 7 or so comments on my blog that I have yet to approve. I just don’t have it in me now to do anything on my blog. I don;;;t understand why I am so unmotivated. I wish I could get past the hump but I stayed worried all the time last week I began going to a Chinese acupuncturist so that I could feel less stress and pressure.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I feel that way sometimes too, Yvonne. I sometimes go for a few days before responding to comments or commenting on the posts of others. In my case it is a bit of depression that creates malaise.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yes, depression follows me around most days and seldom lifts its ugly grip.

        Like

      • The trick is learning to cope. I wasted a bit, not a lot, of money visiting a psychiatrist who did nothing but prescribe drugs. Finally I just decided to be better without his help. There are hills and valleys but for the most part life is good. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yes, I cope without any help. Used to take an antidepressant but can’t now with afib meds.

        I’d like to have a “nervous breakdown” but can’t because 2 people in my family depend on me. Today I wanted to cry and scream but that would get me in locked up probably. 🙂 I just keep on keeping on. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  11. Absolutely lovely. Such wonderful softness to this image.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Todd Henson says:

    Really beautiful image, Steve. All the elements work together, the pastel tones of the background, the soft mist along the water, the land extending out into the water. Very nice. A peaceful image.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Todd. It is moments like this, peaceful as you mention, that photography is its most enjoyable for me. Sunrise is a great experience, but fleeting and a bit stressful for a moment or two as one has to concentrate. Foggy scenes allow for both careful attention to composition and exposure but also for contemplation.

      Like

  13. Holy cow! This magical image just stops me in my tracks. What a wonderful capture, Steve. I’d be tempted to have it printed mural size and then I’d probably never get anything done because I’d want to gaze at it all the time.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

