09.09.2016-Floral Friday Fern-leaved False Foxglove

How’s that for alliteration?  The hyphen saved me.  🙂

fern-leaved-false-foxglove-82816-960I photograph these annually in the Quabbin Park.  The first time I found them I climbed some rocks to get at the plant which wasn’t easy and even a bit risky.  There was someone there to catch me.  After all that I discovered more around the corner on some more manageable rocks and then, last year, found some on ground level.


Here you get a better look at the leaves and how the Fern-leaved False Foxglove-Aureolaria pedicularia got its name.  

fern-leaved-false-foxglove

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Closeup Photography, Flora, Intimate Landscape, macro photography, Nature Photography, Quabbin, Western Massachusetts, wildflower portrait, Wildflowers and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to 09.09.2016-Floral Friday Fern-leaved False Foxglove

  1. Todd Henson says:

    Steve, fascinating plant. I don’t believe I’ve seen one of these before. The leaves really are fern-like (love the hyphens :-). Are they usually alone or in very small patches, more dispersed, as this one appears, or have you ever seen them in larger clumps? I find it interesting how some plants really clump together but others don’t seem to as often.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Most often there are medium-sized (there’s another hyphen for you 🙂 ) clumps. I think the singleton I found is probably part of the plant spreading to another location.I have never seen them as a field of flowers.

      Like

  2. That’s always the way, isn’t it? I’ve had similar experiences, risking life and limb to photo a plant, only to find it right by the trail a little further on. If I’m not mistaken these are parasitic on oak trees.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. krikitarts says:

    I’ve done my share of risky climbing and I have to try really hard to curb that urge nowadays, and I usually am successful. I’ll be much the better for it in the long run, especially as there’s usually no one around to catch me.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. A really beautiful flower and the capture is picture perfect. This one should be printed and framed. The yellow surely brightens up a day.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Beautiful macro, the first shot: such lovely DOF, softness and clarity at the same time.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Fine for a faux-fitful photographic Friday.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. shoreacres says:

    Those little dots inside foxglove (or even false foxglove) flowers are one of their best features: at least to my eyes. I see that Aureolaria grandiflora has been reported in my county. I need to keep my eyes open and see if I can find some. With that lovely yellow bloom, it’s an eye-catcher, so if it is here, it shouldn’t be hard to find.

    Liked by 1 person

    • They do add a little “extra texture” to the flower’s appearance. No doubt they play a part in attracting pollinators in for a little gathering of pollen. Around here it is a mid to late summer bloom but I don’t know if that would correspond to Texas.

      Like

Leave a Reply

