09.08.2016 Quabbin Birch Clump and Star

We used to have a birch clump in our front yard, but it eventually had to be removed due to a few infestations. I have missed it ever since and, for that reason, always enjoy finding them elsewhere.  This one is located on Quabbin Hill and finally got my attention for a photograph back on August 28.

birch-clump-quabbin-hill-082816-800

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Intimate Landscape, Landscape, Nature Photography, Quabbin, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to 09.08.2016 Quabbin Birch Clump and Star

  1. Gallivanta says:

    The stone wall is attention grabbing too.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. shoreacres says:

    What a fun, sneaky little starburst you’ve given us. I really like the way you’ve framed it: looking through the first clump of birch, and then through a second clump. But what makes the photo for me is the contrast between the rocks and the birch: not only the textures, but also the vertical/horizontal contrast.

    It’s a very Frostian photo, actually. It didn’t bring to mind all that business about fences and neighbors, but this:

    ““I’d like to go by climbing a birch tree~
    And climb black branches up a snow-white trunk
    Toward heaven, till the tree could bear no more,
    But dipped its top and set me down again.
    That would be good both going and coming back.
    One could do worse than be a swinger of birches.”

    Liked by 1 person

    • I did make sure of two things in the composition. The first was the starburst. I tried several positions with a much larger sun as a result, but decided the smaller star was a better balance for the image. The second was to include the round boulder lower left in its entirety. I didn’t like the idea of it being truncated…although I guess that would have made sense with the trunks. 🙂

      I am too much of a chicken, but this poem always made me want to climb a small birch and ride it back to the ground.

      Like

    • I’d likewise thought of that Frost poem and also of “Good fences make good neighbors,” with a stone wall standing in for a fence.

      Like

  3. I thought of that poem, too. How perfectly these trees stand here. and yes, the sneaky little starburst is a lovely touch. I admire birches too but they don’t thrive here in Illinois. Too hot for them, I’m told.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. krikitarts says:

    We who love the north woods are, I believe, universally fond of white-birch clumps. We recently added a desperately-needed screened porch to our cabin and we fought with the contractor for months to preserve as much as possible of a 7-trunk clump that’s been there since it was built in 1953. He wanted to take the whole thing down, but we finally managed to persuade him to save four of them. And it’s lovely to have them still standing.

    Like

    • We hated to lose ours. My folks had the same debate with their builder when constructing their retirement home on Cape Cod. Builders prefer a treeless landscape but they held fast as did you.

      Like

Leave a Reply

