08.30.2016 The early morning view from Enfield Lookout

This is a scene that never gets old.  Even on the brightest clearest day it is an enjoyable spot to spend some quiet time.  But it certainly is special at moments when the atmosphere provides light and features like clouds or fog.  More likely than not I can post an image from Enfield Lookout and say “You haven’t seen it quite like this before.”  It amazes me how often I stand there without any company from others (not that I am complaining as you probably know).

Quabbin-View-from-Enfield-Lookout-082716-800

And once again we can see Mount Monadnock in New Hampshire in the distance.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Landscape, Nature Photography, Quabbin, Sunrise, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to 08.30.2016 The early morning view from Enfield Lookout

  1. You’re supposed to be taking it easy today!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I am what I am and that’s all that I am. Easy does it all afternoon except for walking Bentley. This is from Saturday and processed last night. All went well, I am clean as a whistle and ready for 10 more years until the next one. I hope they come up with a better way to prep.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Beautywhizz says:

    Clouds can be one big asset.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Todd Henson says:

    Another image with a very painterly feel, Steve. Very nice. The elements definitely all came together and you were able to capture them beautifully. Glad to hear it went well. I’m sure it’s good to have that behind you for now.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Todd. Yeah, I now have a 10-year grace period until the next.

      This spot has given up several beautiful scenes along the same but different lines. The trees and hills don’t change but the light- it is all about the light…and the clouds.

      Like

  4. krikitarts says:

    I hope images like this were all that was in your mind throughout the ordeal. The good part is that you have–what?–another five years in which to look forward to the next one.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. The scene is one of peace and tranquility. Beautiful fluffy clouds hovering low with the mountains and hills beyond makes this scene very different. I like this one very much.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. It’s morning in America.

    Like

  7. shoreacres says:

    There are times when your photos remind me of Alaska. Of course there are many, and significant, differences, but the interplay of land and water recalls what it was like to cruise the sounds and inlets of the Glacier Bay region. Watching vista after surprising vista open up was so delightful. I suspect it would be the same here, gliding into and out of the passages between the hills.

    Liked by 1 person

    • To a lesser degree I think you are quite right, Linda. However, I’ll never be able to verify that as this part of the reservoir is off limits to boats. The northern part has fishing but below a certain line it is forbidden. This view is below that line for the most part. The water we can see from here is above the former Enfield and Prescott, MA which were flooded in the construction of the reservoir. The farthest mountain we see here is Monadnock in New Hampshire.

      Like

  8. I, too, have a place like that where I’ve taken hundreds of pics over the years. It’s always different, depending on season and time of day. Your picture looks so peaceful and promising – a brand new day gifted to the world.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

