08.29.2016 The Wisdom of Pablo Casals

Pablo Casals, possibly the finest cellist to play the instrument, was once asked why he continued to practice at the advanced age of 90.  He answered “Because I think I am making progress.”

There is debate as to how old he actually was when making the statement as there are several instances at various ages found on the internet.  But he did say something to that point and it is advice that everyone striving to do their best possible work at any craft should take to heart. That an artist of his accomplishment, revered by all who appreciated fine music performance, should see things this way speaks strongly to the rest of us creating our art.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to 08.29.2016 The Wisdom of Pablo Casals

  1. I agree. That echoes what Renoir said the day he died, (as I recall reading), after putting down his brush, “I think I’m beginning to get it…”

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I agree. I keep learning new things, to my delight!

    Like

  3. Well that means you are still enjoying being a photographer and we are always going to be pleased! Sol

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Todd Henson says:

    Well said, and something we sometimes need to be reminded of. There’s always room for improvement and growth. And I think there may be a lesson in there somewhere about humility.

    Liked by 1 person

    • The pursuit of perfection is never ending and unattainable.

      Liked by 1 person

      • krikitarts says:

        Perfection itself may be unattainable, for the vast majority of us, but its pursuit–as you said–should be never-ending. Too many give up the effort too soon. May we not be counted among them!

        Liked by 1 person

      • A long time ago, I was interested in Tantric Art. You may have seen an example on the back of an old Moody Blues album cover. They are in pursuit of perfection but always make some small error as it was believed humans are not perfect and to accomplish it would be an affront to the Gods. At least that was my understanding. Here is a nice example. They often also are erotic as the depiction of sexual acts, as written about in the Kama Sutra, is an important part of life.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Steve, that old saying is,”practice makes perfect” or almost. Never stop what keeps you up and going. That is supposed to be the key to longevity. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. shoreacres says:

    I found one of my favorite Renoir quotations in Jean Renoir’s book about his father: “The advantage of growing old is that you become aware of your mistakes more quickly.” I suppose one of the greatest temptations is to allow our mistakes to hobble us.

    Liked by 1 person

    • And in the same vein…”Don’t be afraid of growing older…you’ll still do stupid things, only slower.”
      I apparently make a lot of mistakes, based on what my employer says, but what the hey, I gotta be me. 🙂

      Like

  7. Gallivanta says:

    I have art from Egypt and Tibet, and they all have deliberate imperfections. I like the idea of imperfection; it’s comforting. Would you ever consider adding a deliberate imperfection to your photos? I think it would be hard to do on purpose.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I don’t think it would be too difficult to purposely leave an imperfection or add one during capture. But, and in the spirit of this conversation it is my good fortune I suppose, I do it all the time unintentionally. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

