08.28.2016 Guess where? :-)

Quabbin shoreline of course. I did go to Harvard Pond earlier, but am sharing out of order.

This scene is along the edge of the reservoir near an area known as Hanks Meadow in the park proper.  One of the things we are finding now is a great number of rock piles.  Aside from them ruining the landscape view for others, they also disturb various small creatures that rely on the rocks for cover and, in some cases, food sources.  Even on the shore and definitely in the water…in the water being off limits as it is a protected water supply resource for Boston and other communities.  I noticed this morning that not only are rocks being piled similar to cairns, but they are also now being arranged into “rooms”.  I am not sure exactly what goes on within the rooms, but it really changes the whole mood for shore walking.  Anyway, just my grumbling and it will change no one’s behavior because, no doubt, none of the folks doing it will be reading this.

I was looking for some sort of interesting foreground feature as there were few clouds in the sky and a landscape shot here would be pretty blah without something to grab attention.

Quabbin-Shoreline-Hanks-Meadow-082816-800Not sure whether this is a wall hanger (interesting clouds would help), but I enjoyed finding it and making an image. Were it not for the drought this would be underwater. According to our long-range forecast, it won’t be underwater anytime soon.

Harvard Pond to come tomorrow. No shooting Tuesday…colonoscopy (I’d usually be working then anyway).  The prep diet is worse than the procedure…I’ll sleep through that.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Landscape, Nature Photography, Quabbin, Water, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to 08.28.2016 Guess where? :-)

  1. Interesting shot, the colonoscopy won’t be that bad.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Interesting about the rocks. Those preps are like hell. I was as weak as water after mine.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. krikitarts says:

    I thought you were going to let us guess where, and I was ready with several clever responses, but then you spoiled the fun. And, speaking of spoiling the fun, I have written a song about colonoscopy, but i don’t think it’s really publishable for such a sensitive audience as you have here. Maybe in a more private setting, and after a few wee drams of single malt…

    Liked by 1 person

  4. shoreacres says:

    I know, I know. Wrong condition, wrong procedure, but still — the combination of the photo and your mention of the colonoscopy made me think of the rocks as kidney stones. Maybe it’s all that water.

    The smaller “body of water” in the foreground makes it look as though Quabbin has a Mini-Me.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

