08.27.2016 Foggy Twilight

Once again, here is an image from a repeat location. These trees really have lots of possibilities for compositions and, depending on the conditions, offer some fine images.  I’ve shot the full moon through the trees and sunrise over them several times. I am not sure that I have made a fog image until now.

As I left the neighborhood, I thought there would be ground fog over this field and there was the possibility of twilight above.  Once in a while what I visualize actually occurs.

Foggy Twilight-from-South-Maple-St,-Hadley-082716-800This exceeded my expectations.

A short distance to the left of this scene is some acreage that was on the market for a short time.  It is owned by Eversource, our electric utility, and was being marketed for development.  The land affords a great view of the Holyoke Mountain Range and many folks here were upset.  Eversource took it off the market and one of our local land preservation groups is looking to work with the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service to add it to the recently created Conte Preserve.  Our fingers are crossed.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Landscape, Nature Photography, Sunrise, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to 08.27.2016 Foggy Twilight

  1. Ahh … now there’s one a really like … a winner, to be sure. Again I say that you seem to have more than your proper share of beautiful sunrises there in MA. We had river mist as well this morning … but nothing like what you’ve captured in today’s contribution. Perhaps I need to start getting up and out earlier?

    Like

  2. Todd Henson says:

    Steve, your last post was a great example of how black and white can make a very impactful image. Now with this post you do the same for color. There’s a simplicity I like with the almost silhouette of the trees, with the fog and clouds adding a nice moody feel. Then there’s the great subtle color in the sky and the little bit of detail in the foreground grass. I like these sort of images. Simple, but very effective with plenty of mood or emotion. I need to try some of these.

    Liked by 1 person

    • The dynamic range was nicely within the sensor’s capability so there was the question of opening up the shadows a bit more, but I liked having the trees dark and that was just about how my eyes were seeing them without allowing them to adjust to the lighting. Too much detail would not have been an asset and probably would change the mood quite a bit. Thanks, Todd.

      Like

  3. I really like this scene. The fog makes the trees to the left stand out and vice versa. I sure hope the area is added to the preserve. Otherwise would be dreadful.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think ti will end up being preserved, Yvonne. Hadley already has a strong tax base and that allows them to preserve the farmland a little more than our town does. Amherst used to be a farming community. UMass was originally Mass Aggie. Now most of the farms are gone and we have three colleges and lots of restaurants.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Happy inaugural fog image. I can see why you feel it exceeded your expectations.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I can, too. It’s pretty great.
    Here’s to land preservation! I hope the plans work out.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. shoreacres says:

    The expression on Bentley’s face is hilarious. I think it translates into something like, “Who dares to disturb me?”

    The fog shrouding only half of the trees is especially fortunate. it’s a lovely photo. As for that power company — well. I nearly had a heart attack recently when I saw that Southwest Electric in Arkansas had been proposing to build high-voltage transmission lines that would have run right through some of the most beautiful country in Arkansas, and come within 1,000 feet of Thorncrown Chapel. The features would have included a 150′ clearcut right of way and 150′ towers every 800′.

    I’m hoping to visit there his fall, and classic views of transmission towers weren’t on my to-do list. Citizen uproar put an end to the plans, and the proposal was withdrawn. Steve S. visited the place — here’s one of his photos.

    Like

    • Power is always a tough subject. We need it, but it seems most situations for supply are unpopular on some level. Besides the obvious issues with fossil fuels, wind turbines kill birds and mess up the landscape and solar requires land being taken for solar farms. People don’t seem too interested in geothermal or water power. And, of course, the land needed for power lines to go through is not a good thing either. Some of those supports are enormous. Speaking of power lines, I have a spot below some that I visit to photograph fringed gentians. Later in the day when usage is higher one can hear the lines crackling above.

      I think his expression was aided by the strong sunlight, but he looks like that even when I am photographing him indoors. Cassie and Dixie were happy to have their pictures taken, but Murphy and now Bentley don’t appreciate the preflash.

      Like

  7. krikitarts says:

    There’s a path very close to our home in Omaha, along the Papio (a rather unfortunate abomination of “papillon”) Creek, where we used to walk our dogs (while they were alive), and it runs directly below some high-power lines. I was always disturbed when I could hear–and, I swear, feel–the crackling of the electricity running through them, and was always relieved to get well out of the range of their influence again. There’s something eerie and sinister about that effect..

    Liked by 1 person

    • I am not sure whether the jury is still out on the effects of high voltage power lines on our health, but I wouldn’t want to have them passing over our yard or even in our neighborhood. Despite whatever evidence or lack thereof that may or may not exist, it just seems that the lines have to give off some sort of radiation.

      All our utilities are under ground.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

