08.24.2016 Wordless Wednesday-Mount Lizzie

Mount Lizzie from Morton Pond Area-082116-800

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
Image | This entry was posted in Black and White, Landscape, Mountains, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to 08.24.2016 Wordless Wednesday-Mount Lizzie

  1. shoreacres says:

    The apparent similarity in size between the rock and Mount Lizzie provides a pleasing sense of balance. I find myself focusing not on the rock, nor on the mountain, but on the scene as a whole, with the point of attention somewhere between the two.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I walked back and forth along the shore for a while and tried a few different compositions along with a vertical but settled on this as what worked best. The idea is to start at the rock and follow the line to Lizzie. That you then settled in between and took in the whole image says the composition works. Thanks, Linda.

      Like

  2. Love that you did this in black and white, nice touch.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. krikitarts says:

    Great choice for monochrome. I really like the submerged rock that peeks out, like a ghost, at lower right.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Todd Henson says:

    Black and white used to be all there was. Now we’re able to create photos with such amazing and vibrant color, and yet black and white still has such a powerful appeal. Very nice.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Todd. Unlike the earlier shot, the light was a little flatter and the color more subdued all of which made the decision more evident to me. Sometimes the color gets in the way of the expression.

      Like

  5. I really like Mount Lizzie in B&W. The reflections of the trees and clouds in the lake is lovely.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Nice. I’ve been out-of-touch for a bit … chauffeuring the in-laws to the Isles of Shoals for a bit of a reunion. VT-NY-PA-NY-VT-NH-VT-NY-VT … nearly 2000 miles in all. J and I are both pretty tired. I’ve been admiring your last several posts, they’ve all been beautiful. When I check my reader from out-of-town I find commenting cumbersome … so forgive me for the silence. The island weather was wonderful in NH and I’ve got lots of images … now all I need is some rainy days to keep me inside … writing!

    Like

    • That’s an awful lot of driving. I like a good drive, but your trip seems a bit much. At least you did have some stops along the way.

      Hah! Rainy days? you’ve got to be kidding. Every time they are in the forecast those days turn into duds. Two days in a row we had HEAVY Rain!!!! predicted and each one ended dry…not a drop. About the only good thing I can say is the mosquitoes are at an all time low. Oh yeah…the lawn doesn’t need mowing very often either. I’d rather have the rain.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Our pond is almost back up where it should be … don’t know why really, we haven’t had what seems like all that much rain.

        Like

      • Maybe it’s tied to the extreme humidity. Just thinking…if the trees can accept moisture from the atmosphere and it somehow collects in the roots and the roots contribute water to the groundwater then maybe some of that finds its way into the pond along with condensed humidity from the air dropping into the pond as well.

        Like

Leave a Reply

