08.17.2016 Connecticut River Sunrise 1

I would not say that I am stuck in a rut or losing interest in my regularly visited landscapes, but it is good to add new locations for variety in image-making and I will admit to sometimes not feeling inspired as I leave the house when going somewhere familiar. That was the case on this past Monday when I checked out Google Maps and The Photographer’s Ephemeris for sunrise over the river. I enjoy sharing our local landscapes and variety is the spice of Nature Photography.

This spot, near Mass. Audubon’s Arcadia Wildlife Sanctuary in nearby Easthampton, on the Oxbow offered the view I was hoping for.  Well, almost.  The sun was rising a little south of my perspective, but the side-lighting of the clouds as I looked northward made for some wonderful light.

Connecticut-River-Sunrise-081516-800As you may have guessed, there is a number two image made a few minutes after this one and that will show up here tomorrow…or later today.

And…possibly the name Oxbow is familiar, aside from it’s utilitarian identity, but also as a favorite work of art from The Hudson River School‘s Thomas ColeView from Mount Holyoke, Northampton, Massachusetts, after a Thunderstorm-The Oxbow. Lots of links (4) in that one sentence and six altogether.   🙂

This really exceeded my expectations.

 

 

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Landscape, Massachusetts Audubon, Nature Photography, Sunrise, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to 08.17.2016 Connecticut River Sunrise 1

  1. Jim Ruebush says:

    It’s good you went there. It opened up some new windows. Have you ever had that many links before?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Always good to expand one’s horizons…even if there are mountains or trees in the way.
      Definitely not nearly so many links before. Seems a lot to ask of readers to follow them all. But they are for satisfying curiosity for those who wish to.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. krikitarts says:

    Well worth the research and the extra drive! With your passion for sunrises, what time do you go to bed at night? Or do you?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Actually, this spot is a little closer than most of my other locations. Well, yeah, I do sleep a little bit, Gary. 🙂
      Bentley and I, as with Murphy before him, retire around 8-8:30…excepting nights when I go out for moonrise and the occasional sunset.

      Like

  3. Todd Henson says:

    Really nice image, Steve! This one looks like it was well worth the research and the trip. Beautiful color, and I love the triangular pattern of the colorful sky with its reflection. I hear you about adding a little variety. I more often tend to shoot birds, bugs, and blooms, but have felt similarly about regular spots. I still love them, but it’s nice to get around a little more. I’d also like to put a little more time into landscapes.

    Looking forward to your next one!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Todd. I also shoot a lot of different subjects although not really set up with proper glass for bird or other wildlife photography but have been stressing landscapes lately. After a while they are pretty repetitive and it’s a challenge to find new ways to portray them. A work in progress.

      Like

  4. I can see why this exceeded your expectations. Very nice.

    When I took a required art appreciation course in college in New York City I remember having to do a paper that compared Cole’s “The Oxbow” with a torso sculpted by Aristide Maillol. I see that there are several by Maillol in the Met, but in looking at them online now I no longer remember which one it was that I had to compare to “The Oxbow” half a century ago.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. shoreacres says:

    When I hear the word oxbow, my first association is with Moon Lake, a Mississippi River oxbow near Helena, Arkansas, where my gr-gr-grandfather began his Civil War career as part of General Grant’s Yazoo Pass Expedition. The formation of oxbows is interesting — they provide a neat way to read the history of a river. But, as your photo shows, they’re also wonderful spots to enjoy a sunrise.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aside from my local first association, my second would be this

      It’s hard to fathom the time involved in the development of an oxbow. I have just picked up a book that tells the story of the Connecticut River Valley’s geology and will cover the oxbow along with much else.

      I am envious of your family history.

      Like

  6. Oxbows hold a strong appeal to me, probably because I so love a strong curve. And water, of course. This is a wonderful composition, Steve. Just beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Melissa. Are you familiar with the Thomas Cole painting I linked above? Of course, the landscape no longer resembles what he painted.

      Like

      • Oh, yes I am familiar with that one. In fact I was thinking of it also. It is sad how changed the world is, isn’t it? It makes me want to hurry up and buy a small farm that I can re-wild and then sort of turn my back on the world. Well, except for my coffeeshop and used bookstore fixes 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

