08.12.2016 Quabbin Shoreline

Looking north from Gate 5.  The color isn’t always to the east.     🙂

Quabbin-Shoreline-Gate-5-072516-800I am always looking for peace and serenity while shooting.  This spot often provides.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Landscape, Nature Photography, Quabbin, Sunrise, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to 08.12.2016 Quabbin Shoreline

  1. Gallivanta says:

    Peace and serenity a plenty.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I find that I’m so intent on photographing a place that I don’t often spend time enjoying the serenity for its own sake.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I am often in a place and set up in advance of the action so can enjoy the place for itself before the action gets hot and heavy, Steve. Occasionally I am in the dark so can really get immersed in it. Once the sun starts lighting the horizon clouds and then into the actual rise I am also intent on my activity and enjoy the quality of the place through my photographs. It is the same for almost all the shooting I do. Concentration.

      Like

  3. Indeed, peace and serenity … but my immediate reaction to this image was that the water lever was so low. I wonder how many surrounding communities depend on the Quabbin and if the local authorities have asked residents to cut down on consumption? I had heard a local radio report (WNHPR) that had made mention of the Quabbin and said that although it was holding it own, some other local municipal water supplies were in such great shape. We expect real rain this weekend. Although I have never been to the rain forest, we are experiencing humidity right now which I imagine is similar. Haven’t been out with the camera for several days.

    Like

    • As of 8/1, the Quabbin is listed at between 100-80% capacity which I have a hard time believing.
      http://www.mwra.state.ma.us/monthly/watersupplystatus.htm
      Only a couple of surrounding communities(Chicopee, South Hadley and Wilbraham) get water from the reservoir. Most use is by residents of Boston and it’s vicinity, which is why it was constructed as the city expanded and outgrew the various resources at hand there.

      We had a short shower this afternoon, but radar shows more for tonight and tomorrow…possibly Sunday as well. I haven’t been out with the camera since Monday, but that is my usual schedule as I still have four days of employment.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. shoreacres says:

    Peace and serenity send me out to look at the world: to find those same qualities in its life.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. krikitarts says:

    Though both are essential for ideal sanity and well-being, they are not always to be found in the same place at the same time. When they are, they complement each other and the combination results in soul-healing magic. A wonderful journey, indeed.

    Like

    • I’ve found both in many of the places I frequent, Gary. Those that deliver become regular haunts, so to speak. A lot of it is having that quality within us to start. I find that as I open myself to sense of place and start to concentrate on image-making, most of everything else recedes for a while.

      Like

  6. Beautywhizz says:

    Love the ripples in the water. They create a peaceful and placid picture.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

