08.10.2016 Another spectacular New Salem sunrise

I made several exposures (times three for HDR) of sunrise from this well-visited spot.  I had posted one on Facebook which had required a fair amount of flare removal and I can see a few artifacts so will probably cast that one aside.  This is, I feel, a better composition in some ways, maybe not in others, and had almost no flare to contend with…just a small bit that was easily removed.

North-Quabbin-Sunrise-080816-2-800You may recognize those rocks as having previously been front and slightly off-center.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Landscape, Nature Photography, Quabbin, Sunrise, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to 08.10.2016 Another spectacular New Salem sunrise

  1. Indeed, another beautiful shot. Do the rocks delineate a parking area or are those naturally placed? A bit of rain just started here a few minutes ago … much anticipated, much needed, and much appreciated.

    Liked by 1 person

    • The rocks are for seating. There are more further back to the left that keep the cars off the grass. The spot is a cul-de-sac.

      We got a very nice prolonged shower yesterday. It didn’t make much of an impression on the water table but was refreshing while it lasted.

      Like

  2. shoreacres says:

    There’s much I like about this photo: the sun a bit above the horizon, the implicit V shape stretching out from the tree on the right, the extra rocks that help to make them an integral part of the scene, the golden light that helps to make the starburst not quite so bursty.

    Did I mention that I really like this?

    Liked by 2 people

    • I am glad that you enjoyed this. Feel free to repeat yourself as often as you wish. 🙂
      Aside from this being a great location, the relative clarity of the light is a big part of the image. The day before was more foggy, images to follow, and I had actually hoped for more of the same. In hindsight I am glad the fog didn’t materialize.

      Regarding the starburst, I think I will start trying to get less rays in some images. After a while I imagine they all look the same for some folks.

      Like

  3. Linda says it well, so I’ll echo her. I like this too.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Lottie Nevin says:

    What a beautiful image. I always think of sunrise as nature’s celebration of a new day. Full of promise and hope. Hope your day is full of good things.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. TK says:

    Very nice composition, colors and sharp starburst. Well done.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. krikitarts says:

    What a way to rise and say: “a new, great day is on its way!”

    Liked by 1 person

  7. If you know, what determines the number of rays in the sunstar?

    Liked by 1 person

  8. The light, the light. What a beautiful sight of early morn with the scene awash in the sun’s rays.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

