08.06.2016-2 Frog Friday a day late

Should have got this up yesterday as was my intention but time got tight and I missed. From a close encounter of the Lithobates catesbeianus kind, here is an American Bullfrog in a mud puddle near Hop Brook in Amherst.

Bullfrog-Friday-080413-800Getting this close is sometimes difficult but often not so much.  It takes a slow approach from eye level or below. Many of a frog’s predators, such as herons or egrets, strike from above although snakes do take them as well.  Many years ago I saw a frog under a bush and grabbed my camera.  As I got closer and focused I noticed the frog was surrounded by a snake’s mouth. As much as I like frogs, I do also like snakes and decided that it was not up to me to interfere with nature…not that I could have got the frog away from the snake.

So this turned into a Saturday two-fer.  Happy weekend all.   🙂

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Amherst, Closeup Photography, Fauna, Nature Photography, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to 08.06.2016-2 Frog Friday a day late

  1. vedaeddy says:

    What a great shot!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. krikitarts says:

    Their eyes are so fascinating–it’s great to be able to study the golden details in this one’s iris so minutely!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Better that time got tight than that you got tight.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Nice. I’ve yet to experience this sort of close encounter. Hope to … some day.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. shoreacres says:

    Early yesterday morning, the guys on the hunting and fishing show were talking about bullfrogs. It seems the salt concentration finally is lowering, and as fresh water becomes available in the marshes and bayous, the frogs are coming back. They were laughing about the racket they make. Apparently if you have a healthy population of bullfrogs around, you’ll know it.

    I have precisely one photo of a bullfrog. He’s got his head under duckweed and some other plants, and didn’t seem inclined to smile for the camera, but at least can prove I’ve seen one. I think they must be the ones who make such a racket when I scare them up at the edge of a pond: ker-plunk!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Oh yeah, they can be heard for quite a distance. Sometimes all it takes is one going off to get the whole chorus croaking. Finally my woods got raucous last night after we had some rain. We have several amphibian species back there but they drew silent through the drought.
      A favorite image, but others that I wish I had, is of a bullfrog with only its eyes protruding through the duckweed. One of these days.

      Like

  6. tomwhelan says:

    Love the sharp eyes. Mud puddle? It’s dry as a bone in the Boston area.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s been dry as a bone here too, Tom. But we have had the occasional light shower and once in a while something slightly more substantial. Yesterday was a good gentle rain that lasted for a few hours. The best in a long time.

      Like

      • tomwhelan says:

        Some rain here as well. Nice not to have to go out and water the garden.

        Like

      • We are still watering as what rain we have received doesn’t really last long enough to soak in. The mountain range seems to cause the rain to shift to our north or south this year. If we do get a down pour it lasts for only a short time, running off or collecting in puddles.

        Like

  7. I was just led to a photography website that might interest you:

    https://www.youtube.com/user/VistaClues

    Like

  8. I thought for sure Steve would make a crack about the frog being in Hop Creek….

    I’ve noticed this, also, with frogs, that you can sneak up on them if you are coming in low. Thank you for this frog Friday on Saturday, even though I am now enjoying it on a much later Sunday 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I went back and read it more carefully~ it is Hop Brook, not creek, and I see the frog was in a puddle not the brook. Still, 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

