07.30.16 White Water Lily

July has flown by.  So much has been going on in general and with Bentley in particular.  The adoption became official last Sunday when we signed the papers after spending the month as fosters.  He has settled in very well and, I am sure, feels like he is home.

IMG_1066This morning I went to New Salem yet again for another sunrise.  But I also went along Moosehorn Road and saw this nice looking water lily.

Water-Lily-073016-960I thought it was cool the way the reflection of the tree looks like another stem.  I owe a few sunrise shots now.  There’s so much to see I often let some fall through the cracks but I will post them down the road, so to speak.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Closeup Photography, Flora, Intimate Landscape, Nature Photography, Western Massachusetts, wildflower portrait, Wildflowers and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to 07.30.16 White Water Lily

  1. Ah yes, the upside-down “stem” that’s really the reflection of a tree. And of course the dark background brings out the flower so nicely: well done.

    Like

  2. Faith says:

    Bentley looks very content, so happy he’s found his forever home! Stunning water lily pix.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Gallivanta says:

    Bentley, as perfectly in place as a lotus in water.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. shoreacres says:

    You’ve probably mentioned it at some point, but I don’t remember — how old is Bentley? He surely does look like he’s settled in. I’m glad it worked out for all of you.

    The faux stem is interesting, but the detail that caught my attention is the tip of the petal on the right. It’s brighter than the rest of the petal it’s attached to. At first I thought it was underwater. Then, I decided it wasn’t — but the entire petal clearly isn’t. And there’s that surface tension, like under a water strider’s feet. Perhaps the tip’s curled up, and is catching more light. Whatever — I really like it. So much mystery in such a tiny detail!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Bentley is three. We don’t have any actual papers from the kennel where he was born, but three is about right. Yup, he makes himself comfortable everywhere and that is just fine with us. We are not people to keep our dog off any furniture. We may place a towel on the cushions but he is welcome everywhere.

      That petal is underwater with the exception of the tip and that is why it is so much brighter than the rest. The surface tension was what really got my attention after I got over the lily. There were a few others and one pad, which will be posted eventually. I am glad you found a few things to pique your interest and keep your eyes moving about the image.

      Like

  5. So happy for Bentley! And the photograph of the water lily is absolutely stunning!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Bentley was fortunate that he did live in a home where he was loved, but they just didn’t have the time available to give him the attention and, just as important, exercise he requires. He seems happy here and is getting plenty of both.
      Thanks for the nice comment about the lily, Lemony.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. He looks pretty happy.
    Your lily is lovely. I like the reflection too. Last week I was admiring lilies here. Some years ago my botany teacher took us canoeing to see some high quality plants. My that was fun! Now that I am working on my pen and ink series I figured I’d go see whether I could find any of those plants. I was in luck. Many seem to let go from their substrate this time of year, and prevailing winds had blown them to the shore I could access. I spent a happy afternoon splashing about, taking photographs of several rare plants, plus a lily. Mine was a bit ratty, not like yours.

    Like

    • He is a happy little guy (well, not as little as we’d like him to be) and seems to be enjoying his new home as much as we are enjoying sharing it with him, Melissa.

      That is pretty cool that they go afloat later in the season and quite fortunate for you. I’ll be looking forward to seeing some of those pen and ink works.

      Like

Leave a Reply

