07.18.2016 Hop Brook from the KC Trail Bridge

And, in the distance, is another view of Mount Norwottuck.

Hop-Brook-from-KC-Trail-Bridge-071716-800I’ve always liked this spot in South Amherst.  Once those clouds moved on we had another hot and humid day without rain.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Amherst, Landscape, Nature Photography, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to 07.18.2016 Hop Brook from the KC Trail Bridge

  1. Jim Ruebush says:

    We’ve had several mornings with rain followed by clearing and hot/humid conditions. Looks like another today. We had 0.38″ of rain this morning. The past 30 days total is nearly 10″.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Beautiful. I hope you get rain. We keep having promising starts with heavy clouds in the mornings, and then hot humid afternoons, no rain.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Beautiful scene with a farm and what looks to be a silo? Everything is very green. Here it’s hot and trees are already dropping leaves.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Interesting. This one has a real depth to it, especially in the clouds. I know you’re not a fan of HDR but something in that sky is suggestive of it. You either experienced a fairly unusual morning out there or something else is going on that I can’t figure. Also, is that your superwide? Anyway, beautiful result. We’ve been having some hit-n-miss showers over the last few days. Yesterday the alarm on the weather alert radio went off, warning of severe storms … and we got about 3 drops as the thing passed by. I’m not complaining though. We’ve had rain in good measure this summer.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Very astute, David. It actually is HDR-processed in Camera Raw followed by other contrast adjustments in PSCC-2015 and shot with the 16-35 +polarizer.

      Same here for precipitation. There was a storm headed our way but it veered off to the north and we barely got more than a few drops. Later another storm approached and then went south. Things are seriously dry here.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Todd Henson says:

    When I was younger I spent time in many of the towns just off the length of 91 in this region, but this was before I was into photography, and I didn’t often have the opportunity to hike along trails and in parks. It’s nice seeing this region again but different locations through different eyes. I like the 16-35 perspective. I don’t use that one as often as I’d like. And I think the HDR processing on this one works. It’s not heavy handed, looks natural, just brings out more detail, gives a little more pop. Nicely done!

    Down around D.C. we’ve been having periodic outbursts of rain, sometimes with strong wind, as well as the heat and humidity. Looks like this week could be the hottest yet.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Most of my processing involves contrast adjustment, Todd. Usually the goal is just what you mentioned…detail. A;though sometimes the light or color is enhanced a bit that is not usually my goal…just a pleasant by-product.
      I am liking the 16-35 more every time out with it. To the point I am considering giving up my Zeiss 21. Every little bit of weight I can take away from the bag will enable me to stay out longer. The hikes out of the Quabbin are, for the most part, uphill.

      My sister-in-law lives in Bethesda so we have been hearing about your weather.

      Like

  6. Your photo gave me a little of the impression of an HDR, though I don’t think you used that technique. Sometimes pushing up the shadows slider and pushing down the highlights slider in Photoshop produces results that look a bit HDRish.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. That looks so much like a meadow round my way! Great photo

    Liked by 1 person

  8. shoreacres says:

    I like the contrast between the sky and its reflection in the water. There’s a sense of movement in the clouds, and yet a very still, peaceful sense about the flow of the stream. I’m quite taken with the multitude of greens, too. The yellow-greens used to seem unnatural to me when I saw them in photos, but the more I’ve been out and about in different conditions, the more I’ve seen it in reality.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It was very important to me that the reflection of the clouds was as clear as possible and the polarizer certainly helped with that. The difference in color is caused by the muddy tones in the water shifting the blue reflection.
      Although it is the height of summer now, there is still a variety of greens to be seen, especially in the early morning light. By the end of summer all will be as one…sort of.

      Like

Leave a Reply

