07.15.2016 Invitation to a hike

Quabbin-Gate-15-invitation-060616-960One of many old roads located in the Quabbin Reservoir watershed, this one being Gate 15’s Atherton Brook Road (my name, I don’t think there is an official designation).

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Landscape, Nature Photography, Quabbin, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to 07.15.2016 Invitation to a hike

  1. shoreacres says:

    It looks so fresh and cool. And look at all those varieties of green. Your long view is inviting — is there any chance the path leads to water?

    Liked by 1 person

    • It most certainly does, Linda. Most of the gates lead to water and are old roads that used to traverse the valley which was flooded for the reservoir. There are some roads that run parallel to the water, but most disappear into the depths.
      It will probably look similar tomorrow morning when we have some nice fog before the sun burns it off.

      Like

  2. The ferns are glorious. A lane through the forest. Really beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’d gladly take you up on your invitation.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Todd Henson says:

    Really nice image. I like the curve of the trail from the lower right into the woods, and the lighter spot of trees directly above the trail works well. Looks like a great place to spend the morning hiking. How crowded do the trails get?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Most of the roads here are similar with curves and rise and fall elevations, Todd. I was happy to see that slight luminous quality from above. It depends on the time of day. Arriving a little after or just before sunrise, I rarely run into anyone else, but as the day wears on more folks enjoy the roads.

      Like

  5. Beautiful. We just found a place that looks very similar … and which is close to us. Boston Pond. We walked there yesterday. It was glorious. Comfortable temperatures, slight breeze … and very FEW things that buzz-and-bite. What do you use for repellent on your forest expeditions? Joanna won’t use anything (she prefers to be bitten) but I’ll spray on anything that works, mostly products with DEET. There are lots of new things showing up on the market that claim to be as effective but with little toxicity. I wonder what you use. Forgive me if I’ve asked this question before .. it seems I might have!

    Liked by 1 person

    • The lack of buzz and bite is a plus. I think the shortage of rain has certainly helped control them this year although we are getting so dry here that I’d happily deal with the bugs to have our water levels replenished. Despite my soaking at the bog, we’ve had much too little precipitation so far this summer. Most of the small ponds are dried up and brooks are down to a trickle. A whole long line of thunder showers was headed our way across NY this afternoon, but as it approached us the line parted like the Red Sea and most passed to our north. Maybe you got a little?

      I’ve been lucky that the lack of mosquitoes etc has allowed me to go untreated for the most part. When I use something it has been Citronella this year. A few suspicious spots have developed on my nose, forehead and scalp so I am trying to avoid DEET when possible.

      Like

Leave a Reply

