07.10.2016 Steve and the Giant Purple Pitcher Plant

We’ve needed rain and got a little this morning while I was at Hawley Bog. Very little.  But that didn’t stop me from getting soaked.  The bushes and tall grass were leaning over the boardwalk and heavy with the mist/drizzle we received overnight. I waterproofed my boots but that could hold back the drenching from the plants. It was worth being wet to spend a few minutes with the pitcher plants and a nice stalk of Canada Lily.

There were not too many pitchers near the boardwalk where we are required to stay but one or two were in a good position to shoot. I lay on my side for this Purple Pitcher Plant (Sarracenia purpurea) as well as a few more yet to come.

Pitcher-Plant-Flower-High-Key-1a-071016-960Very different lighting with this one seen a few years back.   There are also some orchids, one of which seen in the linked post as well, but again not as many and they are only just starting to develop.

While shooting this, I thought I heard a cascade or waterfall in the distance, but it was just the rain heading in my direction across the bog.  I don’t get off the ground like I used to, so got a little more soaked but happily so. Spray can boot waterproofing is only so effective and my jeans are like a sponge.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Closeup Photography, Flora, macro photography, Nature Photography, Western Massachusetts, wildflower portrait, Wildflowers and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to 07.10.2016 Steve and the Giant Purple Pitcher Plant

  1. Jim Ruebush says:

    You had to battle the elements this time. Keep your camera dry.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I usually keep the flap over the contents and hang over the bag to change lenses so the contacts don’t get wet or the front element covered with drops. But I was around the other side of the boardwalk when the drizzle returned so things got damp. I keep a roll of paper towels in the car for drying things off and all is well.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. shoreacres says:

    What a strange, beautiful plant. I’m glad you linked to the other photo, as I was having a bit of a hard time figuring out where the pitcher-part was. Now, I’ve got it. But does it change color? It seems more green and orange than purple. Perhaps it depends on the stage it’s in: buddding, blooming, fading.

    I especially enjoyed seeing the tiny droplets on the spider silk connecting the top and bottom of the flower, echoing the larger drops below. And isn’t it odd that the inside of the flower looks like the fruit of the bois d’arc: all knobby and green.

    Liked by 2 people

    • The name comes from the pitchers themselves, Linda. They do change color as they mature from green to purple/red. And, of course, the light makes a big difference…overcast yesterday and just as the warm golden light hit at sunrise for the other.

      The bois d’arc tree was a new one for me. It’s always a wonderful addition when dew or raindrops reveal the hidden.

      Like

  3. Gorgeous picture of the pitcher plant. You surely went to lengths to get the photo. When getting wet during your photographic forays, maybe you need a huge sponge as a seat cushion for your drive home. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I can relate to the getting-wet-thing. I think I have said before that I prefer to be entirely dry or saturated through. It’s being in between that I can’t stand … just the sort of condition you describe above. I’m trying to imagine you on that boardwalk … I wonder how you manged the shot, given the working distance of the lens. You must be a contortionist … or, at the very least, very flexible!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Agreed. Dry or soaked is better than damp. I was able to lie on my side with the 180 and get this low angle from the ground on up, David. I am neither, but willing to suffer a bit of awkward discomfort for a unique shot. It isn’t easy to lift myself up with just a few boards to balance upon but I did it without falling into the bog and rivaling Tollund Man. I have stumbled among bushes in the snow and fallen on my back with my full pack and wondered if I were to remain there until someone found me but did eventually right myself like a turtle.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I don’t often see the pitchers at this stage, but the flower really looks cool doesn’t it? Like a space ship.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

