07.02.2016 Mount Lizzie

One of my favorite landmarks in the Quabbin Reservoir and watershed is Mount Lizzie.  I have several shots of it and think that at some point I may be able to do something slightly like Hokusai did with Mount Fuji. I say slightly because there are limited vantage points for Lizzie while Fuji is visible from everywhere.

Between us, Mount Lizzie and beyond is the submerged former town of Greenwich and to our left is Prescott.  Out of sight to the left lies Enfield and to the right, Hardwick (still in existence) and Dana north of that (not).

Mount-Lizzie-from-Goodenough-Dike--070216

Lest you think I worked too hard for this, I walked the road that passes over Goodnough Dike and set up by a pickanick table. Once accessible by vehicle pre-9/11 this is now part of the Healthy Trail.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Landscape, Nature Photography, Quabbin, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to 07.02.2016 Mount Lizzie

  1. Just Rod says:

    Nice framing Steve. I particilarly like the texture of the trees in the foreground

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The framing with the trees on each side, as Rod has mentioned, makes this a delightful picture that is easy on the eye. I like this one very much.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Here’s my atavistic response: the patches of light going up the tree trunk at the left reminded me of sprocket holes in 35mm film.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. shoreacres says:

    I haven’t heard the word “pickanick” in years. It’s such a great word, straight out of my childhood.

    I’m quite taken with the way the trees are leaning in from each side. Is that natural, or was it caused by your lens? Whatever the cause, they seem to be paying obeisance to the mountain. It’s very effective.

    Steve’s reference to sprockets brought back a truly weird memory. Did you ever hear the alt-rock band “Toad the Wet Sprocket”? Most people haven’t, and they certainly aren’t on my playlist, but the name always has stuck.

    Like

    • Thanks, Linda…I am happy that someone picked up on the pickanick reference. I’d hate for someone to think it was a “Boo-Boo”.

      The trees are a combination of weather and lens. I shot this with a 16-35mm lens, so there is some distortion, much of which I corrected in PS but not too much as some of what you see is also naturally tipped.

      As a matter of fact, yes.

      Like

  5. I only made it a few seconds into the video…. oh dear!
    You have a lovely spot for a pickanick there. I keep thinking of the movie with George Clooney that showed the Tennessee Valley being flooded. Part of me would always be feeling those drowned towns as I enjoyed the views. blub blub blub…

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, I am constantly aware of the towns that are no more made more apparent by the scattered cellar holes, stone walls and disappearing roads one encounters while hiking there.

      Like

      • I don’t know whether I have mentioned this, but I see this here too for different reasons. First, there is a nature preserve that was formerly a housing development. Streets were made, and some foundations, but then a land conservancy rode in and saved the day. Thank goodness. And along the shore of Lake Michigan there are foundations. Over time the lake is working its way west, and swallowing houses. ! I kind of love that.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Given time, nature would swallow up and dispose of everything we have made.

        Like

      • Reassuring, really. Like that poem by Shelley, “Ozymandias”. I always loved that one.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

