06.28.2016 I survived

Thank you everyone for the nice comments regarding Bentley.  We are liking him a lot, but the house training issue is troubling.  It’s only two days so far so too early to really judge him on that but worrisome.

Last night was my image program.  It went well and the fact that it was a really nice group of people made me comfortable.  I only ran a few minutes overtime but repeatedly forgot to speak into the microphone.  I appreciate the Quabbin Photo Group having me.

Here is a recent image showing some of this year’s abundance of Mountain Laurel (Kalmia latifolia) blooms. Nothing quite like Steve’s fields of flowers, but for here it is a pretty good display.

Moosehorn-Reflection-061916-800I’ve been eyeing this spot for a while and finally the conditions were what I was anticipating. The red/orange is most likely a dead mountain laurel.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Intimate Landscape, Landscape, Nature Photography, Patterns in Nature, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to 06.28.2016 I survived

  1. That’s a pretty scene. It reminds me of east Texas, which is wetter than the center of the state.

    Good to hear that your presentation went well. Are you planning to parlay it into other presentations?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Beautywhizz says:

    Beautiful. I love the world reflected in the water.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Jim Ruebush says:

    Ah, those microphones. I like the ones they use on TED talks. They are small, nearly invisible, and always in place. As I was a teacher for my career, I learned to project well to the back of the room with no microphone.

    I like the bloomings and reflections at the pond. Very smooth water.

    Liked by 1 person

    • On my first time there I did not use a microphone and people seemed to hear me fine. This time even with it I had to work to be heard. I must be growing quieter with age.

      We have been graced with calm mornings lately. Perfect for reflections.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Well done! I get nervous just thinking about doing a program!
    This is a striking image.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. shoreacres says:

    I’m so glad the presentation went well. Going a little over time isn’t the worst thing in the world, and who knows? If you do more of it, you might come to enjoy it. I decided I needed a focus for my nature learning, and I enjoy working with people, so I think I’m going to begin volunteering at Armand Bayou Nature Center. There’s a lot of good training available, and opportunities for community outreach, too. Leading trail walks, or donig other interpretive work would be fun, with maybe a little writing for the newsletter on the side.

    I was surprised that you have mountain laurel. Then, I sorted things out and realized our mountain laurel is Sophora secundiflora. I do believe yours is just as pretty. Is it fragrant? I like the little grace note of the tufts of grass in the foreground.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I admire you for getting involved. I am a bit too anti-social, the cause of my program trepidation, to do the same. That and my propensity for saying the wrong thing or word.

      Many people will only use Latin to describe plants as so many have a variety of common names and many share the same one. The tuft of grass made the image for me. It was just a question of where to place it.

      Like

  6. Glad the presentation went well. Perhaps you’d consider posting an outline of your thoughts-for-the-evening here? What did you speak about?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks. There isn’t much to outline. It was off-the-cuff, basically a few comments about some of the images. The only point I stressed was the advantages to visit spots repeatedly for the changing conditions and also for further explorations. Aside from that, I just identified images by location or name. No one will ever ask me to fill in as guest lecturer.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. A beautiful reflective image – looks like a very serene spot.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

