06.06.2016 Cluck, cluck, cluck

I did a nice hike in the Quabbin this morning.  Water and landscape shooting.  On my way out, I put my peripheral vision to good use as I noticed this Chicken of the Woods fungus (Laetiporus sulphureus) brightly shining off a little to my right.

Chicken-of-the-Woods-060616-1075It is considered to be quite a choice edible but I do not forage.  For one thing, I know just enough, as they say, to make me dangerous.  But as a visitor to the woods I tend to leave whatever I find to be fruitful and multiply.  🙂

Today was one of those times with the sun popping in and out from behind the clouds. Waiting for the clouds was the order of the day as the woods were too bright when the sun was out.

So fungus today, water tomorrow.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Closeup Photography, Fungi, Intimate Landscape, Landscape, Mushrooms, Nature Photography, Quabbin, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to 06.06.2016 Cluck, cluck, cluck

  1. Jim Ruebush says:

    Big and healthy. The wet leaves look like ice or snow.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. These are beautiful. A very nice find. Every time I see a pic of some fungi, I think of Office Diva. I miss her humor.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Gallivanta says:

    They do look tempting.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. shoreacres says:

    That’s a fabulous specimen. I know some farmers in Virginia who rejoice when they find one of these. If you ever need recipes, Cheri could supply them. Morel gathering always was a treat, but I’m not so sure about where these would fit on my personal scalel for what’s appetizing and what’s not.

    The log sets off the fungus beautifully. I like the shade of green it’s produced: nice and clear, but not so bright that it tends toward scene-stealing.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s the biggest one I have seen yet. I’ll have to check and see if it expands. I don’t forage wild things, but if she has mushroom recipes they must be good for the cultivated kind as well.
      Of course, the green changed as the light did, but looked best in bright shade caused by the thin clouds passing overhead. It would be kind of hard for anything to steal the scene from that orange. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Did you use your new super-wide here? Beautiful contrast between the green and orange.

    Liked by 1 person

    • This was with the 24-70. I had left the 15 in my bigger bag and pared down the load a little (just the 24-70, 16-35 and 180 macro) for the hike, knowing the exit would be uphill and steep.

      Like

Leave a Reply

