06.05.2016 Frostweed-2016

Frostweed-060516-960Canada Frostweed-Crocanthemum canadense- I think..   I am not totally positive about the species. There are four in New England, so I will have to bring a key with me and unlock the true identity.  And as you may surmise, it was raining again.  This was exactly what I had in mind when I set out this morning.  Lucky me.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Closeup Photography, Flora, Nature Photography, Quabbin, Western Massachusetts, wildflower portrait, Wildflowers and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to 06.05.2016 Frostweed-2016

  1. shoreacres says:

    What a pretty plant — and so different from ours, which has white flowers (at least, the one I’m familiar with). I finally found some last fall, so I’m hoping that I can catch it earlier this year.

    The rain drops are a delightful addition, even though I’ve seen enough rain in the last two weeks to last me for a while. We did see a bit of sun this afternoon, even though the river’s still rising. it ought to level off in three or four days, and then start a slow fall. For the time being, a whole lot of people are watered in.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Although the two have different appearances, the ice making behavior is supposedly the same although I have yet to witness it. At least I know where to look, but timing is everything.
      One of the myriad problems with floods is that even when the rain stops, the flooding continues to increase thanks to the tributaries and groundwater. It is a shame that so many people were affected by the flood and I imagine it will be a long time before there is some semblance of normalcy for them. I am glad that, at least I think, you did not experience any loss as a result.

      Like

  2. Nice. Love the drops of rain.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Jim Ruebush says:

    The stamens look flattened.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Gorgeous photo of the Frostweed. I wish we had this one in Texas to go along with our other Frostweed. I love yellow and with the addition of the rain drops this photo is perfect to me despite the fact that the flower is not a perfect specimen as a previous commenter pointed out. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I am not sure I would call this less than perfect. Once the water evaporated I am sure those stamens popped up with their anthers just calling out to whomever was to be employed in their reproductive tasks.
      I am just hoping that someday I get to witness how they got their name.

      Like

  5. Beautywhizz says:

    Beautiful photo, never mind the rain😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

