06.04.2016 Saturday Night One-liner

Tragopogon dubius-Yellow Goat’s Beard!

Goat's-Beard-052816-960No photography today.  I archived 3 months of images…still have March through May to go…and split a bunch of next winter’s heat. Hydraulic splitter not a maul, but it’s hot and still feels like work.  Once I finish the rest of the logs, I have a big pile in the woods that was just taken down this past week and which has to come out and get stacked for splitting next Spring/Summer.  Despite the hundreds and thousands of pieces of wood that get tossed into the wood stove, I actually do remember many of them from splitting and stacking.  Sometimes a log does not want to be split and the resulting pieces are quite distinctive. And, as it’s do it yourself, many of the pieces are nice and small and fairly clean cut as I also split some down to kindling size for a good supply of starters. And…while splitting I was host to my first tick in a while as I don’t wear my photography togs to do yard work. But one ain’t bad and I got it off and into the toilet quickly. They can swim and you have to place a piece of tissue on them to be sure they go down with the water.  Don’t want one crawling back up and giving you a bite on the bottom.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Closeup Photography, Flora, Nature Photography, Western Massachusetts, Wildflowers and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to 06.04.2016 Saturday Night One-liner

  1. Faith says:

    Loved the photo & had a real chuckle about the tick!! Haven’t had any encounters so far this year- thankfully!! I can relate to you’re prepping for “next winter’s heat,” as we split, hauled & burned for many years until we began forgetting to turn down the damper !! Guess that comes with age for some of us!! We then converted to gas but always miss the smell of the wood fires. Anxiously awaiting news & pictures of your anticipated adoption.
    Stay well-

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for commenting, Faith. It’s nice to hear from you again.

      Several years ago, Mary Beth suggested that we install a furnace…just before the prices got ridiculous. Now we hope to keep burning wood into the foreseeable future. I don’t mind doing the work, but the heavy lifting is getting a little harder, especially after two herniated disks. We had the guys who took down the trees quarter the bigger pieces which still leaves them a bit heavy.

      As I mentioned to you in today’s second post, the adoption seems like it should be very soon.

      Like

  2. Jim Ruebush says:

    My brother in Maine said he was out a few days ago and got several ticks on him. They’re numerous from the milder winter, he claims. I haven’t seen any here in IA yet.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It is my understanding that winter does not really do much to the tick population as they can spend it in the leaf litter below the snow. I would guess that means a winter with less snow can damage their numbers more than a typical winter. I am not sure, but I have had exactly now one tick this year and that was from my wood-splitting and not photography. I hope you keep not seeing them.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. You know what the Buddhists say: “Before enlightenment: chopping wood, carrying water. After enlightenment: chopping wood, carrying water.”

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I can relate to all of this. The wood splitting is (in some ways, but not in others) something that I don’t miss … but I can relate to being able to recognize individuals pieces as one prepares to toss them into the firebox. And, you are correct, it is the pieces that were particularly difficult to split that one remembers. I can also relate to putting a blanket on top of tick-in-the-toilet … we do that too! I still don’t get the archive-thing. Can you expand?

    Liked by 1 person

    • I don’t think I would miss it at all. There is still plenty of outdoor chores without it and I’d have more time to help Mary Beth with the gardens. But it is a necessity and I don’t mind the responsibility.
      Archiving means doing the keywords etc and then saving multiple copies of the files in case the inevitably unthinkable happens. I don’t clear/format my cards until there are multiple copies on my external hard drives. I have too many cards and allow myself to be lazy about the backing up thing since I always have another card available. Every once in a while you hear about someone’s computer frying and all their images being lost. I don’t want to be that guy. I am not concerned with what happens to them once I am gone. I won’t care at that point. But while I am here, I do care to maintain them.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yeah, I dump everything to two redundant drives every-so-often … but don’t assign keywords or anything like that. I’ve often wondered (other than searching by date) how I would ever find a particular image from a year or more ago? What do you do about something like a Lightroom Library that recalls all of the individual steps used to process individual imags?

        Like

      • I have yet to use Lightroom. That is one of the reasons I am trying to get everything keyworded and archived before creating a catalog. LR, more or less, needs everything in one folder and that is where i am trying to get. Keywords are exactly how you find things with LR. Otherwise it’s hunt and hunt some more unless you have a good filing strategy and memory. My friend has tens of thousands of moose images and says he has a system that allows him to find any one of them in seconds. Of course, he is getting older, three years more than I, so that memory will not do what it once did for much longer. As far as keeping track of adjustments in LR, I have not got that far yet. All in the coming months. I have to get this done, then put together a slide show for 6/27. Maybe after that I’ll have time. I have 8 prints hanging in the store where I work and I want to reprint and frame them. They were done about 7 years ago and my skills have improved and my framing style changed.

        Like

  5. Beautiful photo of Goat’s Beard. It’s funny how plants were given odd common names. Be careful with those ticks. Guess there is no way to keep them off. But prompt removal is essential- I hope. We used our fireplace until my husband became ill and after that I had the chimney sealed at the bottom and a plate put over the top. I could not afford the price of wood anymore. Besides the fact that smoke was making me ill. But I can tell you that for many years my husband and I enjoyed that fireplace. I loved to see the wood burning while watching the flames as I sat in the dark.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It is also known as Yellow Salsify.

      I am quite concerned with the ticks, Yvonne. Besides treating my photography/hiking clothing, I give myself a good looking over every evening. Not the best thing to do just before going to bed as I give myself visual nightmares but that’s the time to do it. 🙂

      We love using our wood stove. There is no damper, just an air inlet and it burns quite well. We paid more than we could afford at the time, but it has proven an excellent purchase and you cannot beat the feeling of wood heat in a house. Watching the flames can be mesmerizing.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yes, I wish we had done the wood stove thing back in the late 70’s. JUSt never occurred to me and my husband wanted a fireplace anyway. I put a Dearborn gas heater on the wide hearth and that stove can radiate heat beyond what I expected.

        Liked by 1 person

  6. shoreacres says:

    I was surprised by the resemblance between this flower and our Texas dandelion. It’s the stamens that evoke the comparison, I suppose, since there are many differences, too.

    I have a lovely photo of the dandelion which I would have shown you, except I can’t find it. I’m in such a mess, because I’ve depended solely on folders, subfolders, and my memory to keep track of things. With only a few hundred photos, that worked. Not any more. I just have to get them sorted and tagged. I certainly had no idea what a chore it was going to be. Ah, well. Once the sorting is done, and everything is backed up, I’ll open my PS Elements 14 book, and start figuring out that program. I know this — the tagging is going to be wonderful. No more copying and pasting into different folders. Hoorah!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I do see the resemblance although the sepals make the goat’s beard quite unique. It reminds me in a way of an antique compass.

      Lightroom is supposed to take care of finding things. I’ve yet to use it, but have backed up all my files with proper names that do make it a little simpler to find. But I really do need to employ Lightroom. All one would need to do is type “dandelion” and every image with that as a keyword would be on your screen.

      Like

  7. Gallivanta says:

    Is there a reason you don’t squash the tick? Just the mess factor ?

    Like

  8. Oh, Steve, you made me laugh! I confess I always pull a leg off before dropping into the toilet, for the same reason. I don’t think they are squashable. I do love goatsbeard, even though folks around here heap it with scorn.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh boy, did you make me laugh, Melissa. And, I am sure, quite unintendedly..Enough time had passed that when I read your reply in my email I had no idea what it was in reference to and was quite befuddled by the idea of your pulling a leg off before dropping in the toilet. :mrgreen:

      I am quite enamored with goatsbeard as well. So many flowers are scorned because they are so prolific and insistent. But there is beauty even in the most pestiferous of plants. (I thought I had made up pestiferous, but spellcheck didn’t bat an eyelash). Some are breathtakingly beautiful despite their invasiveness.

      Like

Leave a Reply

