05.29.2016 Another South Amherst Sunrise

A few miles south of my recent post and less recent one, yesterday morning’s location offered this nice view which several people have said reminds them of African plains. Having never been there, I can’t say, but I’ll take their word.  That certainly wasn’t on my mind at the time. Many of the trees here are apple, so quite different in that respect…nary a baobab in sight.

South-Amherst-052816-960While making this image, I was treated to the multitude of sounds offered by a local mockingbird. In the same way I like to share water sounds, here are a few seconds of bird song.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Amherst, Landscape, Nature Photography, Sunrise, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to 05.29.2016 Another South Amherst Sunrise

  1. Joanna thought he might be trying to imitate a hawk for a bit. This was really nice, I thoroughly enjoyed being there and being able to see the still along side. Somehow this ‘worked’ differently than the videos and stills of moving water … I liked this very much. [So did Joanna.]

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jim Ruebush says:

    What a nice view of the sunrise. I like the five downward-pointing Rays from the Sun. That’s a nice effect.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I was hoping that the new 16-35 I purchased would define the rays a bit more sharply, similar to what the Zeiss 21 does, but not bad for a zoom. In addition to the downward rays, I liked the dark shadow going up into the clouds. I don’t quite understand what is creating that, but don’t mind it being there…much like yesterday’s stick.

      Like

  3. I really like the rural scenery and I was going to ask if those are apple trees and then I read the post word for word, as I should do anyhow. The starburst effect is pretty and makes the scene come alive. Very nice.

    Liked by 1 person

    • We are not as rural as we once were, Yvonne. What was once a farming community is now a college community with lots of development for homes, expensive homes at that. Our house is in one of the more affordable neighborhoods. But there are still a few farms here and there. In the distance is the Amherst Equestrian Center, a horse farm. There are a few spots also with apple trees. The town next to us, Hadley, has more farms and commerce for a better tax base. Amherst has a higher property tax rate to make up for that. We have three colleges…UMass, Amherst College and Hampshire College which pay very little in taxes. UMass was at one time Massachusetts Agricultural College, but now there is very little concerning agriculture taught there. Hampshire does have a farm and Mary Beth does a farm share there.

      So, I am glad you like the image and hope the first paragraph wasn’t “TMI”. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Thanks for the info about your area. I imagine that the remaining farms are holding on for dear life. I love to see farms that have not given in to progress.

        My county has several horse farms and I love driving by one in particular that is on the way to my son’s house. d

        Liked by 1 person

      • Many take up other facets of their business. Some farms do B&B, some open farm stands, some open small cafes, one nearby has an ice cream stand. The more areas you work in the better the chance you’ll survive.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. I’d say your title reminds me of Another Pleasant Valley Sunday, but I don’t monkey around.

    Your sound recording made me wonder whether mockingbirds in different parts of the country have different repertoires.

    I can imagine an African savanna in your photograph even though, like you, I’ve never been to Africa.

    Like

  5. Reminds me of the long and very complex melodies of the Mockingbirds around here in Southeast Florida. I never tire of listening to them!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I am partial to cardinal song, but it’s hard not to place the mockingbird at the top too. They are just an endless interpretation of all, well most, of the other local birds. We are fortunate to attract catbirds to our yard and they are quite entertaining as well. Ours happen to be quite fastidious…bathing constantly through the day. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. shoreacres says:

    That mockingbird sounds much like the one that sings outside my window at 4 a.m. As for dialects, I suspect there would be differences in their songs just because mockingbirds mock — and there would be different birds to imitate in different parts of the country. I can attest to the fact that mockingbirds can imitate mallards — I’ve personal experience of that.

    The view across the valley is reminiscent of Africa — but East Africa, not West. Living in West Africa, I never saw a savanna: only rain forest with occasionally cleared out areas. I’ve been trying to remember whether I ever saw a sunrise there. I know I did on the coast, but I can’t remember ever seeing the sun until it was higher in the sky. Still, the mornings were often quite beautiful — misty and soft, with a very gradually increasing light.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Some but not all of our mockingbirds migrate, further adding to their possible repertoire. Whatever the reason for their performance, it is a wonderful sound to start the day.

      I would love to experience the African landscape and wildlife. But, again, I can’t get there by driving and am loathe to fly.

      Like

  7. Pingback: Another South Amherst Sunrise | Peter Singhatey - Just Love Flying...

Leave a Reply

