05.25.2016 Lovely Lady

Here’s another up close and personal with a Pink Lady’s Slipper (Cypripedium acaule).

Pink Lady's-Slipper-in-Habitat-052516-960As you can see, we are in a pine woods this morning.  The sky was bright with thin clouds, good for lighting the plant but a bit bright for the background.  One of the bigger shallenges (channeling my inner Clouseau) of photographing these flowers with the Venus Laowa 15mm macro at ground level is keeping the tripod legs out of the frame. I also used a small reflector to light the bloom and a few frames had it photobombing the flower although from the front rather than behind. I used a circular polarizer to remove the glare from the leaves.

This is a great location.  First there are quite a few painted trilliums and now there are many dozens of pink lady’s slippers.  The problem was finding a plant without holes in the leaves.  Somebody’s been taking nibbles.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Closeup Photography, Flora, Intimate Landscape, Nature Photography, Western Massachusetts, wildflower portrait, Wildflowers and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to 05.25.2016 Lovely Lady

  1. You do live in a wonderful area

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Beautywhizz says:

    She is a beauty.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Your lady friend is quite beautiful. Are you not lucky? She is such a unique lady and you sure went to a lot of trouble to capture her. Crawling on your belly to beg her to pose and to be yours for the day, may she always be by your side. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. How are the ticks this year … so far? I’ve taken a few belly-walks myself and haven’t found one yet. The dogs and cats are picking up only a few.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m not sure about the ticks personally as I wear treated clothes which seem to do a great job of keeping them off me. I have seen some reports but can’t speak to that myself.It was feared that the mild winter would mean more, but maybe the lack of snow cover allowed for increased mortality. It’s still early.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. shoreacres says:

    Suddenly the “veins” in the bloom remind me of childhood, and the delight we took in shining a flashlight through the webbing of our fingers and earlobes we could see the tracery of our circulatory system.

    I spent several hours in high grass and on dunes Sunday and Monday without taking sufficient thought for chiggers. I’d worn boots for fording streams and avoiding fireants, but let’s just say I learned my lesson. The good news is I’d put some benadryl in my camera case — perhaps one of the smarter moves of the weekend.

    Liked by 2 people

    • We did that too with our hands. Never did try ear lobes. I was probably worried the light would shine through to the other side.

      The treatment I use works on chiggers too. I sprayed one complete outfit including socks, boots and hat which I wear every time I go out for photography. While we don’t have chiggers here, I haven’t had a tick on me in three years. I buy mine at Dick’s Sporting Goods locally, but it’s also available from Amazon. I’ve linked to the pump spray, but I prefer the aerosol in this case.
      http://www.amazon.com/Sawyer-Products-Permethrin-Clothing-Repellent/dp/B00MA950E0

      Liked by 1 person

  6. The first thing that popped into my head was: “Why, Grandma, what big leaves you have.”

    I have a longstanding aversion to a white sky and usually do whatever it takes to keep from looking up into one.

    I don’t use a tripod, but with a very wide angle lens there are times when I have to be careful not to include my feet at the bottom of a picture.

    Like

    • Agreed. I hate white sky for most things. But I wanted to be eye to eye, so to speak, so it comes with the turf. That’s why there is a big pine tree behind the flower.

      I am surprised that you don’t use a tripod. Now I understand why your standard ISO is 400.

      Like

Leave a Reply

