05.24.2016 Beautiful start to a day

The sky said “I’m going to look great this morning”, so off I went yesterday to a favorite spot to enjoy the beauty.  It did not disappoint at all.

Quabbin-SUnrise-052316-1075One of the reasons I prefer sunrises to sunsets is the solitude I can almost always count on. It’s rare that I bump into anyone else at this time of day.  I guess that’s understandable as this scene occurred at about 5 am.  Bad sleep habits have their perks.         🙂

So far, today is rainy and I am doing chores. It’s good as we needed some rain. If it clears up a bit later I might try to check on the lady’s slippers.  Some locations around here are reporting lots of blooming plants, but the few locations close by are still a bit tardy.  I did find one Sunday morning and that is waiting in the wings.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Landscape, Nature Photography, Quabbin, Sunrise, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to 05.24.2016 Beautiful start to a day

  1. It’s not Lake Placid, but it is a placid lake—undisturbed, as you say, by other people so early in the morning.

    Liked by 1 person

    • There are mornings, but not this early, when boats with fisherpeople are out there, but they are restricted to a line a bit distant from my position. However, when it is that early and quiet it can seem like they are right next to you. Fortunately, fishing hours are not this early.

      Like

  2. Mark says:

    I can relate to the peacefulness and solitude you refer to here Steve. It is much the same for me, especially when it means an escape from a busy suburban area. I think your photograph captures this feeling perfectly.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Mark. I really do prefer shooting alone, even if with a kindred spirit. There’s something about the image making that is personal enough to make solitude a positive experience.

      Like

  3. Jim Ruebush says:

    Most of the places I’ve lived have had sunset views. This house has only sunrise views. There are trees up close to the west. I soon got used to seeing the sunrises and how they change from day to day. One of the first things we do each morning is go to the front window to check on the display.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sunrises just have always worked better for my body clock. I have been rising at 4-5 a.m. since I was 12 with a paper route. Now I appreciate them for the clean air and quiet. You start your day right.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Calm water and a beautiful subtle sunrise. Wonderful serenity.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Your spring season is clearly well ahead of ours. We’ve only had Peepers for a few weeks and the first wave of wildflowers is just now going by. The apples are coming into blossom and few, if any, of the larger trees are in full leaf yet. The shot presented here is a beauty. I can very much relate to the early-to-bed-early-to-rise-thing … I was up this morning at 3:30 … not planning a photographic run, but rather, doing paperwork! I also do some of my most enjoyable writing in these early hours. There’s something about not having the distraction of the day-light that leads to increased productivity.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Once I am fully awake, which unfortunately is often the case anytime after 1:30, there is no going back to sleep. So I get out of bed and try to be productive. Sometimes I actually am. Not sure I like the idea of breakfast at 3:45 and then running out of the house so early, but I do love what I get to see during those early times.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. shoreacres says:

    This is my all-time favorite of your sunrises. The teal/adobe (or turquoise/copper) combination is glorious. I’ve saved this one, so I can remind you I want to buy it when I’ve got the bills paid and there’s some cash in the column labeled “disposable income.”

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s kind of hard for me to pick a favorite, but it is near the top for me too, Linda. I am happy you like it that much. What is that “disposable income” thing you speak of? 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

