05.23.2016 Thrillya with some Trillia

Quadrillium, thrillium…why not thrillya and trillia?

Unless something really special presents itself, this will be the last for 2016. One reason I like photographing these so much is the variability of the petal edges. This one really appealed for its ruffled lines as well as the contrast against the darker green, another variable in this plant. I think that they are like snowflakes…no two are exactly alike.

Painted-Trillium-052116-960

When I purchased my Venus Laowa 15mm macro lens last year, it was with shots like this in mind.

Painted-Trillium-Habitat-052116-960I’ve still got some learning to get confident with the lens, but I am getting there.  What I am not getting is more limber with age.  Shots like this require a flat layout on the ground and you know what that means…I have to get up.  Not so easy anymore.  🙂

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Closeup Photography, Flora, Intimate Landscape, Nature Photography, wildflower portrait, Wildflowers and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to 05.23.2016 Thrillya with some Trillia

  1. Incredibly beautiful I love the colors in this photo. Could you use a small stool and a short tripod? Dang it is hell to get old but you are still a spring chicken or maybe your spring is now sprung?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Gallivanta says:

    I was thrillyaed especially by the frills. Last time I was down that low, I fell down getting up. I was in a very public place, which was great in terms of helping hands, but not so great in terms of my pride. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • I gave up on maintaining my dignity and pride years ago, Ann. It was an uphill losing battle. Now I expect to be embarrassed and am thrilled when it doesn’t happen. Another good reason for shooting solo. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Now we’re familia
    With the great thrill yuh
    Get from your Trillia.

    And the thrill you get from getting up with no mishap is no downer.

    The Canon EF 16-35mm f/4L IS USM lens that I’ve recently used a little isn’t a macro lens but it does focus on things as close as about 6 inches from the front end of the lens. At 16mm it can approximate the perspective and depth of field in your second photograph.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Beautywhizz says:

    Well done for getting down to get that shot. Wonderful. It’s a very beautiful flower.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. shoreacres says:

    Lovely photo. Are the leaves truly that large in relation to the flower, or has the lens enlarged them a bit? I like the large-leaf-small-flower contrast.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, they are much larger and the flowers surprisingly small. This was shot with a long macro (180mm) so it has just the opposite effect, making things seem closer together and, in this case larger, so the flower is in reality just a bit (not a lot) smaller than it appears.

      Like

  6. Pingback: A gene’s way | Welcome to Pairodox

Leave a Reply

