05.21.2016 One more and then a trillum

As always, I was thinking trilliums this morning and was on my way when I saw this scene and had to stop.  In all honesty, I was also thinking ladies’ slippers but it’s still a bit early at the usual place.  At any rate, I wasn’t thinking of either of them for about 20 minutes.

Southeast-Street-Sunrise-052116-1075I am doing a photography program at the end of June entitled “Meanderings of an easily distracted photographer”.  I think this is a good example of shifting gears from what is on your mind to what is presented before you..  I try not to shoot just one category of nature photography (he says after a string of sunrise landscape posts).  There is so much to be appreciated out there and it seems best to be open to it all.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Amherst, Landscape, Nature Photography, Sunrise, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to 05.21.2016 One more and then a trillum

  1. Beautywhizz says:

    I also do get easily distracted when out and about with camera or sometimes I get too fixated on what I planned to photograph I might just miss on some wonderful things right in front of me.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. shoreacres says:

    I’m certainly glad you were distracted. I don’t have anything against trilliums or ladies’ slippers, but this is beautiful. It’s a fact that we can’t predict what’s going to present itself on any given day, so flexibility is as important as planning. Heck — my files are full of posts i still want to polish up and publish, but others keep getting in the way. It’s not the worst problem to have.

    Liked by 2 people

    • I often am in a similar position only with a backlog of images. It’s not too bad while I am working, but on the weekend, and now with a week and a half of vacation, each day yields more images to share.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Jim Ruebush says:

    I like to see the subtle changes that occur as the seasons progress. Your photographs are the best documentation of those. Sunrises, flowers, waterflows, audio, clouds…they are all parts of the process. Keep them coming.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. You’ve been on something of a creative roll lately … I’m envious. Everything you’ve presented has been beautiful … shot-after-shot. I think all of the colorful skies must be down south, for I have yet to see either a sunrise or sunset that I could term ‘colorful’ up here. I wonder why? When are all these beautiful shots, documenting the New England seasons, going to appear in a lage-format, coffee-table-book? You should consider it. You could even consider self-publishing at a site like Lulu?

    Liked by 1 person

    • I don’t know why you are not seeing good light, David. I know of several photographers in Northern New England who are getting great shots, mostly though up around the Presidentials.
      I have thought about a book and am collecting images with that in mind. I had not heard of Lulu before, but will look at their site. Thanks.
      I have been working hard at making images when I can, so I appreciate your noting the effort.

      Like

  5. Gallivanta says:

    You make me wonder what fun I could have recording all the distractions of my day eg destination, laundry; distraction, courier at door; leave parcel and try to return to laundry; decide I’d rather be distracted by parcel; 3 hours later, remember the laundry didn’t get done….and so the day goes. I don’t think I could make my distractions look as beautiful as yours though.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aren’t you the busy bee, Ann? Believe it or not, my non-work days sound like yours. Aside from taking the time for photography in the morning, my days off are honey-do days, although I do admit that many of the chores are of my own choice, but I like to think that I am doing them for my honey…aside from, like you, the ones I forget. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Gallivanta says:

        Well, I do like that expression, “honey-do days”. That’s my smile for the morning.

        Like

      • Well, it’s purloined just a tad. People often refer to their vacations as “Honey Do” meaning stay at home and paint, mow, chop wood, whatever your partner desires as opposed to traveling, etc.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Your expression “honey-do days” reminded me of the ending of Coleridge’s “Kubla Khan”:

        Weave a circle round him thrice,
        And close your eyes with holy dread,
        For he on honey-dew hath fed,
        And drunk the milk of Paradise.

        Like

      • Methinks the honey do I was speaking of is not what Coleridge was referring to, although maybe my spending a week of honey doing will be my key to paradise.

        Like

  6. “Meanderings of an easily distracted photographer” sounds like an excellent title. Unless we’ve set out for something specific that isn’t going to last, I see nothing wrong in letting distractions take us wherever they will.

    Like

  7. Pingback: 05.26.2016 Photographic whack-a-mole | Stephen Gingold Nature Photography Blog

  8. Pingback: 05.29.2016 Another South Amherst Sunrise | Stephen Gingold Nature Photography Blog

Leave a Reply

