05.18.2016 An image before work

I made two, actually.  One at a time though.  When I did that familiar task of taking our veggie scraps out to the compost bin at 4:30, I noticed the clouds and thought there might be a nice sunrise possibility.  I don’t leave for work until about 6:45, so there was time to go out and still get back for breakfast and be on time.  I usually feel too stressed with a deadline, but felt OK with it for a change.

It gets bigger with a click.

South-Maple-Sunrise-051816-960Getting out early is unfortunately easier these days as I wake around 1:30, toss for a while, give up and get up.  Not sure why, but I seem to be functioning alright.  I am sure it is taking a toll in other ways.  Counting sheep or even painted trilliums doesn’t help. I try to quiet my mind but to no avail.  Maybe I need a beagle by my side.  We’re working on it.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Landscape, Nature Photography, Sunrise, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to 05.18.2016 An image before work

  1. Jim Ruebush says:

    Sunrises are good for a person.

    Like

  2. Just Rod says:

    That’s gorgeous Steve. I really like the sense of depth. The clouds just go on forever.

    Well worth the stress of deadline

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Rod. The clouds did go on for quite a way behind me. I am glad I got out for a little while and, for a change, gave little thought to how much time was passing on a workday. And I am glad you enjoyed the view.

      Like

  3. I left a comment right at the time WP had a problem, and now I find my comment disappeared (and I also see Just Rod’s appeared twice). I’d said I was sorry for your few hours of sleep each night. Can a beagle beguile your restless mind? Let’s hope so.

    Like

    • WordPress has been wonky for a little while lately. Sometimes after I hit comment, nothing happens and if I hit it again it says I already made the same comment which doesn’t show up until I close the window. Maybe Rod’s double comment was the result of their tinkering in the other direction and who knows why yours wasn’t there at all.
      Lately, I’ve been getting one of the two usual notifications for comments on my blog…the one that offers to show the comment but doesn’t take you to the comment box. Later, sometimes days, I get that second notification.
      I am not sure whether a beagle will help, but I did not have trouble sleeping when Murphy was there. Could just be coincidental.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Beautiful photo. The sky is a fantastic range of colors. Nice find. Maybe you need to see a doctor and get something to help you sleep. A Beagle would help, too, maybe.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Yvonne. It was fun watching the colors develop and get more intense on the underside of the clouds. It approached me like a magenta tide.
      I always get at least 5 or 6 hours which, of course, is not enough, and seem to be getting by. I hate taking meds if I can avoid it so will keep on as I am as long as I can.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Gallivanta says:

    Jack my schnauzer advises that if you can’t get a schnauzer then a beagle is a must. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. shoreacres says:

    Just for grins, I tried a few photos of a pretty sunset last night, and ended up with a bit of that lemon yellow. I looked at the photos and thought, “Did it really look like that? Did I do something wrong?” I guess maybe not, because it was the same color as in your photo. I’d show you, but I dumped them all. I must say, the trees look especially nice against your sky.

    Like

    • I am not sure exactly how true the yellow is as it isn’t easily seen by the naked eye. So there is the possibility that it is a sensor reaction rather than a true capture. A response to slight over-exposure.

      Like

Leave a Reply

