05.17.2016 Quadrillium undulatum

As I checked out my favorite spot for trilliums and lady’s slippers, I found something unusual as I mentioned yesterday. Actually, it is a Trillium undulatum (Painted Trillium) as you probably recognize.  But with an extra leaf, sepal and petal.  When I posted it on the native wildflower group I belong to on Facebook, there were some who believe it to be a genetic disorder, a few who blamed it on Fukushima and GoBotany who says it’s due to an injury during development.  A couple of people also shared trillium images that either repeated what I found or showed a “double” individual.  It is a rarity for sure, but not unheard of.

Painted-Trillium-with-4's-051615-700If one can go by clover, I guess it was good luck.  Hard to argue as just finding it was lucky, even if nothing else changes.  🙂

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Flora, Nature Photography, Western Massachusetts, Wildflowers and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to 05.17.2016 Quadrillium undulatum

  1. Repetition-of-parts is surely interesting and results from a genetic mistake of one sort or another. There are perhaps thousands of structural genes which control the development of leaves, sepals, and petals. There are also control genes which control the thousands of genes which control the development of leaves, sepals, and petals. There is also a master control gene (called a HOX gene) which controls the genes which control the thousands of genes which control the development of leaves, sepals, and petals. Clearly, in this case, the HOX gene hiccuped and called for one-too-many sets of parts. Now, why the hiccup occurred is another mystery altogether. Did you see this recent report of human polydactyly (http://www.cnn.com/2016/05/04/health/chinese-boy-31-fingers-toes-irpt/)?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for the explanation, David. Wow, 1 in 1000 births. I’ve actually never witnessed it, that I am aware, although I have seen the occasional article about a dog or cat. If the child is unable to have the operation he will have a very difficult life, I imagine…at least in terms of what most consider normal which in itself is a complicated and questionable quality.

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Gallivanta says:

    It’s a one in a millium find. The flower doesn’t seem to be disadvantaged in any way. Genetic changes in humans often cause great distress. Maybe there is something here that we can learn from flowers. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Beautywhizz says:

    It is a very beautiful flower, love the symmetry in it.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Beautiful. Looks like a perfect specimen to me, no matter the cause.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. susurrus says:

    A gorgeous plant and shot. I recently took one of a yellow quadrillium in the Ozarks. I was attracted by the light and didn’t notice the form was unusual at the time.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I’m happy for you, give that such a rarity is a photographer’s delight. The name you chose, Quadrillium, is just right. Perhaps you even danced a quadrille for joy.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I was just walking through the woods to see if anything was up. I hot-footed it back to the car for my gear. I don’t dance, so no Quadrille by me, Steve. The last time I danced was about 45 years ago and all I did was shuffle my feet.

      Like

  7. shoreacres says:

    The trillium is so pretty, and I love the clever name you gave it. Since I’ve been paying more attention, it’s really surprised me how many oddities are out there. I found one in the lot across from me. I haven’t identified the plant yet, but this is its usual appearance. There were hundreds of the plants in the field, but in the midst of them, I found this. There are a lot of genes switching on and off out there.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Pingback: A gene’s way | Welcome to Pairodox

Leave a Reply

