05.05.2016 One more from Murphy Falls

It’s Throwback Thursday on SGNP, so here is one from a visit to Dean Brook last autumn.  We have been getting rain of varying intensities every day this week since last Saturday, so I would guess the brook is still running hard.  I’ll be going there this weekend looking to see if there are any early arrivals of Painted Trilliums.

Murphy-Falls-110715-960We have been approved for a while now to adopt a new beagle.  Last night we spoke with a counselor about a sweet 9.5 year old male (yeah, we couldn’t hold out for a youngster) named Hennessy and await a conference call tonight with the foster folks.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Intimate Landscape, Landscape, Nature Photography, Waterfalls, Western Massachusetts, Western Massachusetts Waterfalls and Cascades and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to 05.05.2016 One more from Murphy Falls

  1. Jim Ruebush says:

    We had a beagle named Peggy when I was little. Dad sold it to a guy who lived 20 miles away. He drove off with Peggy.

    Many days later, Peggy came back. Her feet were sore from the long journey.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Beautywhizz says:

    Beautiful photo. Hope you will see the trillium and good luck with getting the beagle!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Yes, a classic waterfall image from you. So beautiful! I am looking forward to the Painted Trilliums.
    Best wishes on your Beagle quest. How lucky he will be if he gets to come live with you, and I love that name.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Melissa, on both counts. I’ve photographed many Painted Trilliums over the years, but never tire of them. I hope I never do.

      The luck will go both ways, I am sure, Melissa. I’ve never known another dog with that name.

      Like

  4. I never tire of seeing the beautiful photos of nice falls, especially this one. I always think of dear Murphy and I’m sure he would approve of you and Mary Beth adopting an older fellow. He needs love and kindness too and y’all will give him the best possible home. It’s a good thing on all accounts.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Yvonne. Ah well, things don’t always work out. I was told that Hennessy had been treated for seizures but hadn’t had one in months. Last night the counselor told me that they had started again for poor Hennessy and he is no longer available while being treated. But there are several others just coming into the system, so one is bound to be a good canidate (yes, the typo is intentional 🙂 ) and they are all a few years younger as well.

      Like

  5. I like the dark tones of this one. Nice.

    Sorry to hear about Hennessy. Something will shake out soon, I am sure of it. My father always use to say, concerning events we have no control over, ‘It is written.’ I’m not sure ‘where’ these things were written, but he was right inasmuch as things always do turn out for the best … and in their right time. Good luck.

    We finally have a bit of a break in the weather today. Hopefully I’ll be able to get out with an eye on some recent, botanical, arrivals.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks.

      It is a shame that he is having the seizures. Obviously we were not terribly attached yet, but initially it seemed he was to be our dog, so we do feel for him. That is a good way to look at things. I, too, do not really think that things are “written” or “fated” but most often do work out for the best…or at least the better.

      We saw a little sunshine today. At first, I was not sure what it was, but then something in my memory was triggered and I said “Oh, yeah. The sun!” I was able to get half the lawn mowed before the rain returned. More for tomorrow. I do hope to photograph a few flowers if the rain is light enough. Just found a surprise Greater Celandine Poppy in the yard. Never was here before, so probably planted by a bird flyover inside a little packet of fertilizer. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. shoreacres says:

    Things seem to have changed in the dog-adoption world. When I was growing up — or even more recently — you put an ad in the paper, or a sign outside your house, and if someone wanted a pet, the deal was done. I understand the benefits all around of this way of doing things, but still — counselors and conference calls and foster families and such are completely outside my experience.

    Despite what I’m sure is your disappointment, it’s good that Hennessy can be treated while in the care of people who (I assume) are accustomed to dealing with his condition. And, if you end up with a different, younger dog, there are benefits there, too. Hennessy’s such a great name. He’s not the color of cognac, by any chance? If he is, he would have fit right into the photo up above.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I am not sure that all adoption agencies are as thorough and careful, but many are now. A good number of the dogs, although not a majority I don’t think, are from abusive situations and the goal is to not have a repeat for the poor dog. Just a good safe and loving home. We went through the same procedure for Murphy. Yes, Hennessy, as all dogs with medical concerns, will be well-cared for in his current foster home and receive the vet visits and attention he requires. No, he is a typical tri-color beagle.

      Like

  7. I was out at Inks Lake State Park on the Llano Uplift yesterday, and as I scampered about on the rocks I imagined you eagerly setting up your tripod out there to photograph the wildflowers that have sprung up in abundance. You’d’ve had a great time.

    Like

    • It does look like a great place, although I didn’t see any wildflower images on their site…or didn’t look hard enough. I’d also have a great time shooting landscape and intimate landscape there.

      Like

      • Right. The brochure shows some of the rock formations, which are permanent and not seasonal. Just imagine lots of wildflowers on those rocks: that’s what I experienced on Friday. They were pretty much the same kinds of wildflowers we have in Austin, but here I don’t often get to include such interesting rock patterns and colors along with the flowers.

        Like

Leave a Reply

