04/20/2016 Sick Day Wednesday

Hopefully, this will not be a recurring category.  Mary Beth has been sick for a couple of days and I came down with whatever it is this morning.  So no work and no photography.  Ordinarily I get sick more often and she rarely catches anything.  I am hoping I’ve stopped it in its tracks as her version has been keeping her up coughing through the night.  I’d like to avoid that.  Fortunately, things like this cannot easily be spread in a blog. I hope none of you empaths come down with this.   🙂

Looking back through the folders, I found this image from April 2nd that had not been processed. It’s an interesting spot that I had not visited before along Dean Brook and downstream from all other images I have shared in the past.

Dean-Brook-Tree-Waterfall-040216-960The tree fell years ago and has been collecting debris for a while, creating a dam and waterfall. A little messy with the caught branches and leaves but still a nice little water feature.

Grrrr….WordPress color control is awful.  I’ve mentioned it before.  In Photoshop and on Facebook, the light’s warmth is pleasing but here it is more saturated making it look like the woods are on fire. Just want to mention that.  As much as I wish people to see the images as they should be, I have tried multiple processing of certain images in the past and rarely does that help.  Let the chips fall.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in ecology, Landscape, Nature Photography, Waterfalls, Western Massachusetts, Western Massachusetts Waterfalls and Cascades and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to 04/20/2016 Sick Day Wednesday

  1. I like this little waterfall and the downed tree that caused the water to dam. The warm colors are inviting. The photo appeals to me even if you don’t consider this one to be very dramatic.

    I hope you and Mary Beth are soon over what ever bug y’all have caught.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. tomwhelan says:

    Wish I had a Dean brook in my neck of the woods. The line of sharp water looks great, the clutter doesn’t matter. Hop you’re both better soon.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Jim Ruebush says:

    Nice spot. I understand your frustration with the color control. I hope you two will feel better soon with few ill effects.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. shoreacres says:

    One person’s messy is another one’s natural, perhaps. All of those branches and leaves serve as a nice reminder of the forces at play over time.

    I’ve looked at this a couple of times, and just saw the paragraph you added about the color. My response the first time I saw the photo was that it was filled with a lovely, soft light. Now, I’m wondering if your definiton of “on fire” is different than mine. I can’t compare with Facebook, since I don’t participate, but I thought the color was wonderful, until you told me it wasn’t.

    I do hope you and Mary Beth are feeling better!

    Like

    • As I mentioned to Yvonne, I am getting fonder of this all the time. All that trapped debris is very important to the stream ecology both for the resident fish and other organisms as well as distribution of nutrients that contribute to the overall health of the ecosystem.

      My “on fire” comment was maybe a bit of hyperbole concerning the saturation of the light. If I didn’t say anything, which would indicate that I am brighter than I am, no one would be the wiser, I suppose. The light is indeed soft and warm. But WP, at least on my calibrated display, is warming it a bit hotter than it is. I always tell others to not point out the faults in an image, yet I do it all too often. Do as I say, etc. 🙂

      My website provider does the same…over-saturating rich colors. FineArtAmerica is only a little better. I should change site providers as others are less expensive, but it’s a hassle I don’t need right now.

      Thanks, Linda. I am feeling better after a nice cup of ginger green tea and Mary Beth is off to the doctor to possibly get a prescription or better advice than drink lots of water…not that drinking water isn’t good advice.

      Like

  5. I’ll grant that this may have turned redder than you intended but I immediately felt a warm and pleasant glow when I looked at the image.

    As Eve says, happy new, in this case for finding a spot along the brook where you hadn’t worked before. Also happy double recovery when it comes.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Steve. Recovery is out there somewhere. We may run out of Kleenex.

      I have to learn to keep my mouth shut, I guess. But I know there are folks who might see this and think I pumped it up so try to let them know what’s happening. I did enhance it using various contrast adjustments, but nothing outrageous. Maybe it doesn’t matter as much as I think it does.

      Like

  6. Andrew says:

    Get well soon both of you. I find FB darkens my images Steve. It annoys me and their ‘optimization’ seems to make it worse! This shot is a cracker. Really good.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Glad you like it, Andrew. The shot and my wanting to learn more has plunged me into the world of stream ecology and, in the case exhibited here, coarse woody debris and its ecological importance to streams and rivers and the life within them.

      We’re doing our best. I think Mary Beth is out of the woods. Since my cold started the day after hers, I am expecting to be ready to take on the world tomorrow.

      Just heard a rumble of thunder.

      Like

  7. Mark says:

    oooh, I love the background in this Steve. Hope you feel better. I am wearing gloves to type this just in case. ;-p

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

