04.19.2016 Shoreline Light

I think I can say with confidence that Spring has sprung.   (sorry)   We are finally seeing our lawn flowers getting a foothold.  Bluets, Creeping Charlie (Gill-o’er-the-ground), Blue Violets (with a few of the white variety coming in) tiny white Violets and, in the woods, my single Bluebell plant from last year has some buds.  No sign of the transplanted Jack-in-the-pulpit yet, but I am sure it will show soon.  And, to Mary Beth’s chagrin, a few dandelions are soaking up the rays.   I even split some logs for next year’s heat yesterday.

It’s too windy right now to go out and make an image or two of the flowers so that will wait for another day or later if the wind dies down around sunset.  Instead, I’ll share this image I made about ten minutes after yesterday’s sunrise.  I love the Quabbin shoreline and this spot is one of my favorites for both the actual sunrise and its warm effect on the water’s edge.

Quabbin-Gate-5-Shoreline-at-Sunrise-041816-1075Fishing season opened this weekend and the motors could be heard in the distance although said distance was misleading as the early hour’s quiet allowed the sound of the boats and the talking fishermen to be heard as though they were just yards away.  Still felt peaceful with loon calls mixed in and rafts of ducks floating nearby and south of the fishing limit lines.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Landscape, Nature Photography, Quabbin, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to 04.19.2016 Shoreline Light

  1. Jim Ruebush says:

    I would go there often, too.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. TK says:

    Very nice Steve. I like the soft morning light and the leading line that the shoreline provides starting with the foreground rock.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This one is really nice. The curves of the shore and the trees make this a gentle photo and I like that it’s so easy on the eyes.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Gallivanta says:

    All’s well, it seems. 🙂 Enjoy the dandelions; they have their merits.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. shoreacres says:

    Gill-o’er-the-ground is such an unusual name. I’ve not heard it before; it raises up an image of a lawn full of fish. Now, creeping Charlie I do know. My dad felt about that pretty much as Mary Beth feels about dandelions.

    The shoreline’s beautiful. Approachable water is a gift. I did find some mud flats recently that offered an opportunity to get closer to the water (and birds and alligators) but as interesting as mud flats are, they’re just not as attractive. I love the way the curve of the land seems to be embracing the water.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I know of a few photographers who live near a locale with endless photographic opportunity. I think Quabbin qualifies and I feel very fortunate to be able to visit the watershed as often as I do. It is a shame that people had to lose their homes for the creation of the reservoir, but it is there and should be enjoyed despite the sadness of the taking. Pretty much every one of the 50+ gates leads to a vista such as this.

      Oh yeah, Gill-o’er-the-ground is a bothersome plant in the yard. But its root system is quite shallow making it much easier to pull than a dandelion. And when they are flowering, the plants add a lot of lovely color to the lawn and our foundation. One of my favorite mushroom pictures is framed by it. I don’t imagine you will mind that frame. 🙂

      Like

    • I’d not heard of gill o’er the ground either. According to the relevant Wikipedia article, “It is commonly known as ground-ivy, gill-over-the-ground, creeping charlie, alehoof, tunhoof, catsfoot, field balm, and run-away-robin. It is also sometimes known as creeping jenny….”

      Like

      • If you click on the link I shared with Linda you’ll see an image that introduced the plant on this blog previously. Third one down.
        As with many plants, there a many colloquial names which is why the Latin (Glechoma hederacea) is always helpful. The first time I ID’d it way back when was in a Peterson guide that gave me that name and it is now the one I more commonly use.

        Like

      • Ah yes, the vagaries of memory. Given that I commented on your previous post, I’d heard that name but had forgotten.

        Like

      • You are in good company…memory-wise.

        Like

  6. I often wish I could go to that alternate universe in which there were few humans, and the ones there shared my disdain for motorized and otherwise noisy and noisome sport. Although there is something kind of peaceful about a fishing boat. This is a beautiful image, how the shore embraces the water and the gravel seems to echo the waves.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’d much rather be in the company of rowboats than motor boats for sure, Melissa. The MDC (now the DCR) limits the horsepower of the motors so the noise is not as bad as one might expect. It’s just a hum compared to the roar of pleasure boats. I was more worried about the MDC and state trooper boats which are more powerful and have to travel through my scene in order to get to the fishing areas. Now hearing humans talking to each other…that was disturbing. The loons and ducks…they are welcome any time. 😀

      Like

      • Some of the lakes around here are non-motorized, or limited horse-power. However there is no public access to most of them and private property rings the lakes entirely so even if you have access to them, the lakiness has been rip-rapped away.

        Like

      • When I check Google maps for places to go, I always check Earth view as so many local lakes and ponds are ringed with homes now.

        Like

  7. That rock anchors the picture, aided by the smaller rock in the lower right corner.

    I’m sure you’re happy to see the winter wither and the spring spring.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I do enjoy photographing in winter and this was was a bit of a let down. But my fingers are much happier in the warmer times and, yes, I am now quite happy with the change of seasons.
      I was looking for both an anchor and leading line which the rocks provided.

      Like

Leave a Reply

