04.17.2016 A brilliant start to a nice day

Lots to like about yesterday.  The weather is finally acting as spring weather should with the temperature rising into the 60’s, clear blue skies and a gentle pleasant breeze.  Although the flowers have yet to make an appearance, there are signs of new life everywhere and sounds as well with the birds advertising their availability for a new generation.

At 6:08 am, the sun rose with a brilliant display.

Sunrise-in-New-Salem-041616-960

Later in the afternoon I made this other image with the iPhone.

Monson-Arts-award

I’ve got to admit that I am excited.  Thanks to all the folks involved with the Spring Art Show by the Monson Arts Council.  It’s the first time I’ve got first place in a competition since I was in Junior Achievement…that’s over 50 years ago, people. I hope it’s not another 50 years until the next one.    🙂

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Landscape, Nature Photography, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to 04.17.2016 A brilliant start to a nice day

  1. TK says:

    Congrats Steve! It’s great to have your work recognized. Well done!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. shoreacres says:

    Now, that’s good judgment on the part of the Council. I’m delighted that one of my all-time favorites among your photos took the prize. It’s nice to see it again, particularly with that little placard next to it.

    Liked by 2 people

    • As Mary Beth and I drove to Monson, we debated (mostly I did) which of the two was the winning entry. I had received a call a week earlier telling me of my selection so I would be sure to show up. But I did not ask which. I was thinking that most people preferred the floating leaf, but you liked the reflection the better. When I saw all the other entries I was really awestruck that my image came out ahead of some of them. All were quite good.

      Like

  3. Jim Ruebush says:

    Good for you, Steve. That must make you feel very good. Keep the beautiful and interesting pictures flowing.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Lottie Nevin says:

    WOW WOW WOW! Many congratulations, Steve! Well deserved. You are a FABULOUS photographer and VERY talented. Really happy for you 😀 😀 😀

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Even better, given that you’ve said the jurors were open to abstraction.
    Should it take 50 years for another first (which I doubt), think of it as a guarantee of productive longevity.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Gorgeous sunrise. Stunning, actually with those brilliant colors. And congratulations on wining. I am so glad for you.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Congratulations. You (and the image, of course) are certainly deserving. I liked your observation about the Junior Achievement win. When I was a kid, when all my friends were receiving trophy-after-trophy for being on winning sports teams and such, I had none. My disappointment saddened my Mom to such a degree that she went out and bought me a trophy. It was a very kind … but she just didn’t get it. To this day (like you … until now that is), I’m still waiting. Also … the judge’s final decision must have been a tough one. I’d say that Gingold ‘Reflections’ was #1 and that Gingold ‘Floating leaf’ must have come in a very close #2. Truth-be-told, I liked the ‘Leaf’ quite well indeed.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, David. Actually there were two others ahead of the leaf print. An acquaintance took 2nd and another person Honorable Mention (my position in the previous two shows).
      As a kid, not only did I never win anything, but all my sports teams were always the worst. We lost almost every time out. In those days there were no “participation” trophies like today. I am not sure if that is a good thing or not. I never got “Mr. Congeniality” either.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

