03.28.2016 Return to the Falls

I stopped by the property owner’s place yesterday and asked permission to continue photographing this waterfall which was posted “No Trespassing” the last time I visited.  Interestingly enough, when I drove to the spot I park near the falls, the sign was gone.  For a change, so was the litter. I promised not to “advertise” the name, so from now on it will just be the falls or my favorite falls.

Upper-Falls-032716-960It’s a shame that some people don’t show more respect for the land. Maybe there was less litter as we just exited winter, but I hope the beer parties will not recur.

Here is a 20 second video from a little farther downstream.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Black and White, Landscape, Nature Photography, Waterfalls, Western Massachusetts, Western Massachusetts Waterfalls and Cascades and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to 03.28.2016 Return to the Falls

  1. That is a really nice combination of images. I like having the landscape view in the video to enjoy as well as the still capture. My connection is so slow, the video took ages but was well worth the wait. Thank you for sharing.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I’m glad to hear the litter was gone from your favorite falls. I see so much trash at many of the sites I visit in central Texas. As you said, it’s a shame that people don’t show more respect for the land.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s a problem everywhere. And not just recently. I remember backpacking in northern New York in the Adirondacks and finding crap along the trails and that was around 1980. Of course there was litter well before that, but it does seem to be even more of a problem now.

      Like

  3. Jim Ruebush says:

    Very nice image and video. I hope the place will remain unlittered. A couple of weeks ago we had a very windy day on the morning of our garbage and recycling collection. Fresh exchanges were made all around the neighborhoods of paper and plastic bags. We’d even had a notice from the city to secure your trash and recyclables better for that specific reason.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Jim. Windy days are a problem for recycling. I try to cover my boxes but sometimes those covers blow away. I don’t understand why my neighbors put theirs out the night before when bad weather is coming.

      Like

      • Jim Ruebush says:

        Me, too.

        On a different subject, I had a suet feeder out last week when a big flock of grackles showed up. They were eating everything in sight. I took the suet feeder down and put it under a 5 gal plastic bucket until later when they went away. Two mornings later, I lifted the bucket to hang up the feeder again. Nothing there! I think a raccoon must have tipped it enough to get it without knocking over the bucket. I still can’t find the feeder.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Two years ago both our tube feeders disappeared and the poles were flat on the ground. Bears. Our neighbor down the street found them in his back yard. Not much to do. Take ’em down or continue to feed the birds and take your chances. Animals will figure out a way.

        Like

  4. shoreacres says:

    I’m so glad you have permission to access the falls, now. It’s such a lovely place, and the photos you take there are remarkable. I thought this one was a particularly nice use of black and white.

    Those tales you and Jim were sharing about the animals’ cleverness were pretty entertaining, too. I still laugh when I remember the night a raccoon boarded a boat we’d tied up at a place called the Army Hole, in Port O’Connor. He woke us up, rummaging around in the galley, and when we checked things out, we found he’d eaten all the Pepperidge Farm cookies. Bad raccoon!

    Liked by 1 person

    • My two friends were at a photography group meeting one evening. When they got home at their place in the hilltowns they found their kitchen ransacked. A window had been left open and they figured one of the bears that visited the bird feeders had let itself in and looked until finding the garbage can full of seed. Mark had been photographing the bears pulling on the feeders that were 8 feet in the air. Determined critters. They cleaned up and went to bed. Later that night, Anita woke up hungry and went down to the kitchen for a snack. The bear was half way in the window again and was just as shocked as Anita. Good thing she didn’t go downstairs a few minutes later.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. The first is a beauty in B&W. The second is fine as wine. I like the muted browns and the very green carpet of moss on rocks. (that sounds like the name of a drink. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Nice still … one of many spring images yet to come?

    Liked by 1 person

    • I certainly hope so. Today was spring-like in the barest sense (as in bare trees). Not much green to be seen quite yet and the forecast for tomorrow and Monday calls for possible snow. Not much is expected but we saw little snow in winter and now there’s snow on the way during spring.

      Liked by 1 person

      • The ice is finally off the pond and the amphibians have returned. I am afraid that overnight temperatures in the teens are going to slow our recent advance into spring. There are plenty of fish that are able to live in freezing (in salt water that is) or near freezing temperatures by producing something akin to antifreeze in their tissues. I’m hoping frog eggs can do the same (but doubt it). Perhaps in this case, arriving late to the party will be a good thing. Natural selection at its best!

        Liked by 1 person

      • I believe that I have read about frogs having a way to survive a short cold period…not sure if it’s antifreeze related…but I am sure that, as you mention, it is doubtful that eggs could do the same.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

