03.23.2016 Thanksgiving’s Fiery Ball of Moon

Last night and tonight would be good for shooting the Full Worm Moon, but yesterday I was busy painting the living room so we can adopt another beagle (the deal is to finish painting so the doggie won’t get into a little latex mischief) and tonight is looking overcast in anticipation of some rain.  So I am posting this image of the rising Full Beaver Moon over the Prescott Peninsula in Quabbin.  I had posted one with it fully up and some facial detail back at the time, but found this one tonight and decided to let it out into the light of evening.

Full-Beaver-Moon-2-112515-960

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Full Moon, Landscape, Nature Photography, Quabbin, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to 03.23.2016 Thanksgiving’s Fiery Ball of Moon

  1. Just Rod says:

    Exciting plans for the new rascal. Can’t wait to see the puppy pics

    Liked by 1 person

    • I am pretty eager too and have put off a vacation so I can be here while she gets used to us and the routine. It just wouldn’t be right to adopt and then kennel so soon. I still have the dining room and a hallway to do, Rod. So it will be a bit longer. We’ll be adopting so the new pup will be a puppy in an advanced state. 🙂

      Like

  2. Glad to know soon there will be the patter of four little feet in your house again. And this pic is simply beautiful. I can’t find the right words to tell you how pretty this one is. The colors are astounding. Maybe a print of this one?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. When I read your first sentence I initially misread it as (Full Worm) Moon, and I wondered what a full worm is. Then I realized the words were to be interpreted as Full (Worm Moon), where worm is part of a series that includes beaver.

    That’s good positioning of the treetop in front of the moon.

    Like

    • I would assume a full worm is what one finds in a bottle of tequila.

      This is the same location with a tower and I have yet to get the moon behind it, but I shall one of these days.

      Like

      • You’re an honest man. Some photographers wouldn’t hesitate to move the moon behind the tower. In any case, it’s still a good picture.

        Your tequila comment reminded me of an old riddle. What’s worse than finding a worm in the apple you’re eating?

        Answer: Finding half a worm.

        Like

      • You should have just asked the question so I could have answered. It’s an oldie and one that I had proven as a child. I wouldn’t eat an apple for years.

        Like

      • And…to embellish the worm tales…back in my hippie days my friend and I were lying in the grass behind my folks house watching the clouds form and reform and form and reform and form and reform and…well, yeah, we were stoned. So my mom called us into the house for dinner…spaghetti and meatballs…and half way through dinner one of the strands of spaghetti started wiggling in his beard.

        Like

      • I put a bunch of blank lines to scoot the answer down low and out of immediate sight, but WordPress collapsed all the blank lines into one.

        I’m sorry to hear you lived out the riddle when you were a kid. Fortunately you got over it.

        Like

      • You are one for worm tales from youth! On the positive side, you’ve wormed your way into your readers’ affections.

        Like

      • Just a wormy sort of guy.

        Like

    • shoreacres says:

      I had the same confusion when I picked up the book Blue Highways by William Least Heat-Moon. For quite some time, I read his name as (Least Heat) Moon, rather than as Least (Heat Moon).

      Liked by 1 person

      • I wondered about the “Least.” According to Wikipedia, “William’s father is Heat-Moon, his elder brother is Little Heat-Moon, and he is thus Least Heat-Moon.” Given William’s accomplishments, we can describe him as Least but not least.

        Like

  4. shoreacres says:

    I had no idea there was a Worm Moon, but now that I’ve read up on it, it makes sense as a herald of softening earth, robins, and all those wiggling goodies. Some kids make money mowing lawns or selling lemonade. One of my friends and I earned money by digging and selling earthworms to fishermen. That good Iowa loam surely did hold a lot of worms.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. So, so, glad to hear that you’ve decided on getting a new dog. Am commenting from out-of-town .. so this is brief. When can we expect the new arrival?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Arrival depends on a few variables. How soon do I get the painting finished, how soon does the rescue agency approve our application (it should be quick as we adopted Murphy through them), and how soon there is a beagle available that meets our short list of needs (walks well with Mary Beth’s MS, female, house-broken and good with people and other dogs).
      We always knew we would adopt again, but when was the question. It was just a matter of time before sad morphed into excited.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

