03.14.2016 The sun rises at 7 again

I’ve grown a bit soft this winter (it is indeed still winter) with the later sunrises, so as we have now sprung ahead I am not complaining about a return to 7 after a few weeks of +/- 6 a.m. I also got to try out my new visor mounted flashlight as it was a bit dark when I set up for this pre-dawn image yesterday over North Quabbin from New Salem yet again.

Sunrise-New-Salem-031316-960Nothing like this visible today as we started with a bit of sleet that quickly turned to rain. We have been spoiled with warm but unseasonable temperatures last week and today have been brought back to “normal”.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Landscape, Nature Photography, Quabbin, Sunrise, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to 03.14.2016 The sun rises at 7 again

  1. Jim Ruebush says:

    I like the long low colored cloud streaks. Very nice catch today.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Mark says:

    It is the same with me. Always a period of adjustment that takes place with these silly time changes.

    Liked by 1 person

    • For me it is just a case of being spoiled. I am up so early anyway and my sleep pattern is all over the place so it isn’t much of an adjustment. I am just wondering if I’ll ever sleep a normal 8 hours again.

      Like

  3. shoreacres says:

    If I cover first the left side of the photo, and then the right, it looks like different sunrises. I do like the total effect, as the asymmetry is intriguing. Still, I couldn’t help but wonder if the clouds on the right forgot to change their clocks, and were just a little late showing up. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • The asymmetry had me a little worried with the large empty space in the middle. But it allows more of a sense of the clouds’ movement. I do think those on the right were having a hard time keeping up with the ones on the left. 🙂

      Like

  4. Lyle Krahn says:

    I like the lines created by the clouds. Beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Mind blowing color. Stunning image. I’m impressed with this one.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Yvonne. Yes, mind blowing. To be honest…at times I am so busy thinking about reading the light and placing the meter in the best spot that the experience sometimes waits for appreciation until I am actually processing the image.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Nice color and sense of depth and movement. Why is it that you get the color, and we get only the clouds? Truth-be-told I did see a slight bit of blush in the sky to the east, just yesterday. If I want to see real color, I think I’ll have to take a page out of your book and get myself into the truck and off to a more open location. The Connecticut River is just down the hill. Perhaps, in time, I’ll find some nice lookouts there.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Did you also take any pictures with a telephoto lens where you zoomed in on the clouds in greater isolation for a more-abstract image?

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Lottie Nevin says:

    That’s a pretty stunning start to the day. I bet that beautiful sunrise made you smile 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

