03.12.2016 Frozen in Time

Continuing with the theme of random and short-lived phenomenon, these three lovelies were just hanging around over Dean Brook on March 6th.  On March 7th they were gone, having fallen victim to the warm afternoon the previous day.

Dean-BrookIcicles-030616-960If I were a hardier soul, I guess I could camp out in a spot like this and watch the growth of such formations.  As a kid, I visited Old Sturbridge Village where we had a chance to make taper candles and rock candy (of which these remind me)…much quicker and more comfortable than sitting in the cold for hours or days.

If you are interested in history and are in the area, Sturbridge Village is an interesting time travel into earlier days.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Closeup Photography, Ice, Intimate Landscape, Nature Photography, Water, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to 03.12.2016 Frozen in Time

  1. shoreacres says:

    Your icicles reminded me of candy apples, with the taffy puddling around them. Then, at second look, I saw the sort of wasp nests that I found hanging in my ficus tree — just after the wasps found me.

    Associations aside, that icy trio is fabulous. Just think how many things in the world form and disappear without ever being seen. It’s such fun to see one of them (ahem) frozen in time.

    Liked by 2 people

    • shoreacres says:

      Believe it or not, I hadn’t seen your title when I typed that. Great minds, thinking alike. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    • I imagined wasps’ nests too.

      Like

    • Yup, candy apples. I sort of see the wasp nests, but our paper wasps make them a bit rounder.

      There is an awful lot that has never been witnessed. Species not yet discovered or even extinct without our even being aware of their existence. I am sure that I will someday find some formation of ice that is totally new to me. Most of what I have shared, while unique in itself from all others, is still similar to what I have seen before. I know a bit about ice, but have been reading this book about the variety and formation.

      Like

  2. This is one instance in which falling victim likely involved real falling.

    It’s hard to think of ice down here when we have not just a few scattered wildflowers out now but even colonies of them coming up already.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I almost put fallen in quotes or italics, but figured someone would see what I did there.

      I am jealous or at least envious of your flowers. It shouldn’t be too long now. The skunk cabbage has started to sprout and blossom.

      Like

  3. Mark says:

    Great little scene with this trio Steve! One of my favorites from your ice series.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Indeed they were. I don’t think they would have broken away easily though as they had a twig running through them and from which they formed. I imagine that as the air warmed, they melted loose from the twigs and went for a dip.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. A one of a kind photo and a rare find. Love it. I can imagine all sorts of images as I look a this one.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Lyle Krahn says:

    Very cool formations.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Beautiful shot. I’ve seen many formations like this but didn’t seem to be able to find any well situated enough for a good portrait. Nice work. The reference to Sturbridge caught my eye. Surely I went there on innumerable field trips in grade school. But there’s a deeper connection. We have friends who have worked there, as professional staff and as docents. Recently my father-in-law began clearing out his office at Cornell. Professionally he was an expert in poisonous plants, but his avocation was family genealogy and history of the early settlement of New England, especially the area around Holliston, MA. He had a huge collection of books concerning these topics and we drove him there (to Sturbridge) … U-Haul in tow … last fall to donate a substantial number of books to the research library there. Do you know of the Bullard Farm, in Holliston? That is the historic, family (on Joanna’s side), farm.

    Like

    • The trick is to be willing to literally freeze your butt off after getting it wet while sitting on a rock in the stream.

      How cool that there is the connection between your family and Sturbridge. I wonder if I will ever use that library and whether I might open one of the books he donated. No, I had not heard of Bullard Farm before, at least not that I can recall. If I get out that way I will have to visit.

      Like

Leave a Reply

