03.11.2016 Buffam Brook Below the Ice

Here’s another reminder of what is now passed as winter recedes and spring approaches.  We enter Daylight Savings Time this Sunday morning which means I don’t have to get out quite as early for a while to see sunrise.

Ice-Hole-2-021916-960We saw something on the news last night that said the number of heart attacks increases for about three days after we enter DST.  Our circadian rhythm is altered and we older folks (over 65 was the number mentioned) can have a negative reaction that causes cardiac arrest. I am not too concerned as my sleep is very erratic lately anyway – not sure I have a circadian rhythm at all.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Abstract, Ice, Intimate Landscape, Nature Photography, Patterns in Nature, Water, Western Massachusetts, Western Massachusetts Waterfalls and Cascades and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to 03.11.2016 Buffam Brook Below the Ice

  1. Jim Ruebush says:

    Why would there be more cardiacs? I don’t see a logical connection. My sleep cycle is light. I go in and out several times each night. Sleeping clear through soundly is rare to non-existent.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lyle Krahn says:

    We don’t change time here so I guess I’m OK! Great shot.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. shoreacres says:

    What the clock says makes not a whit of difference to me, since I go to work when it gets light, and quit when it gets dark. I’m down to three clocks to change manually: the grandmother clock ticking away in the living room, the car, and the microwave. The computer and phone do their own thing, of course.

    It occurs to me a good title for your photo might be “Time at the Brook.”

    Liked by 2 people

    • We have at least one clock in every room here, two in a couple, and my favorites are the ones that set themselves (cable, computer, phone, Fitbit), along with the car and a few when I return to work as well. So that part is a pain but, as I just mentioned on your blog, I don’t mind the change in time all that much. My sleep has grown quite irregular so the it doesn’t affect me very much.
      That might be a good title for a collection. I have to give a slide presentation in June. Maybe you’ve given me a theme. Thanks, Linda. 🙂

      Like

  4. Great gobs of ice. Lovely shot in B&W. I suppose you will be happy when the flowers begin to emerge and you get those gorgeous shots of flowers opening, etc.

    I dislike DST with a vengeance. I feel “totally out of kilter” for about a month or more so, I have to try to get to bed earlier than usual.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Although I really do enjoy finding gobs of ice (both gobs as in “lots” and as in their shape) I am very much growing eager for spring flowers, Yvonne.
      You are not alone in your distaste for DST.I think that I am in the minority of folks who like the concept.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. As someone who shares your fascination with the combination of ice and moving water as a winter subject I know that this was a difficult shot to get – nice job. I’ve got one in the works … with a nod to this site.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It was a little challenging as I had to stand on the ice and shoot from almost directly above. There were cracking noises but I did not hit the drink. At least I did remember my microspikes for a change. Thanks for the mention along with sharing the cool icy image.

      Like

  6. Pingback: Freethinking | Welcome to Pairodox

  7. DLT definitely messes up my sleep patterns, so I can see the connection to heart attacks for sure.
    This is a wonderful farewell to winter, Steve 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I am sure the possibility of a heart attack exists in the person and the change pushes it along. I saw somewhere that the idea would be better accepted were it to happen on a Friday afternoon shortly before quitting time. 🙂
      Thanks, Melissa. I’ve one or two more farewells to post but not quite yet.

      Like

Leave a Reply

