03.09.2016 Water in motion and water trapped in time.

The corner of my eye helped me out with this one.  I had tunnel vision for the falls and the various icicles and hopping water when I noticed this to my side.

Dean-Brook-Icicles-and-Cascade-030716-960The title could be applied to most of my icicle and cascade shots and might get used some day for an exhibit of just this sort of subject.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Ice, Intimate Landscape, Nature Photography, Water, Western Massachusetts, Western Massachusetts Waterfalls and Cascades and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to 03.09.2016 Water in motion and water trapped in time.

  1. shoreacres says:

    Wouldn’t it be cool to capture both the cascade of water and drops from the melting icicles? I suppose that would have to involve some trickery — maybe in post-processing? — since I think stopping the motion of the drops would do the same for the water. Could you superimpose two shots? One with drops and one with the smooth cascade? I’ve got the concept, but I’m a little short on knowledge of how to implement it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, it would require a combining of two frames unless it was a very slow drip but that might create a trail rather than a drip.
      Maybe I will have the opportunity again but it might have to wait until next winter the way things are going now.

      Like

  2. Lyle Krahn says:

    I like these kinds of photos that capture a brief moment in time – when you come back it’s changed.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Despite appearances to the contrary at times, nothing stays the same. I have a photograph on the wall here of my family in my youth. I look so young and innocent…boy that didn’t last long.

      Like

      • Lyle Krahn says:

        So true. Where does the time go?

        Liked by 1 person

      • Another coincidence: just a few minutes ago I replied to a comment and referred to a poem by Andrew Marvell. As a carpe diem poem, it made the point that time is passing and therefore he and the lady to whom it was addressed should live it up together while they were still young. In the poem he used a phrase that strikes us as strange, vegetable love. The word vegetable originally had a dynamic sense, in contrast to today, when we talk about someone becoming a vegetable. The word is from the Latin verb vegēre, which meant ‘to move, excite, quicken, arouse.’ Vegetables do move, just on a different time scale from our own.

        All of which is to say I know what you mean about looking at old family photographs and seeing how young we looked and were.

        Like

      • You had me worried for a moment there with the term “vegetable love”. Yes, becoming a vegetable is not a hopeful description as I know from that happening to my father in the late stages of his dementia.
        We are an impatient species and see things that move in a slower time frame as planted in one place.

        Like

  3. Terrific grab. The falls would have been good alone. The ice would have been good alone. The combination is really terrific. I like the whoosh of the water, just before it goes over the edge. Nice depth too. Altogether a winner. D

    Like

  4. A different perspective with the brown shelf and icicles. I like this one very much.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. That will make a perfect title for a show. Very nice photo~I love the contrasts.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

