03.08.2016 Sunrise over Mount Orient

The possibilities for sunrise yesterday did not look very impressive at first. Overcast.  But there was a gap on the horizon that let the sun shine through and made for a very colorful start to an otherwise cloudy morning. You never know, but for sure you won’t see it if you don’t take as look.

Sunrise-from-Southeast-Street-looking-toward-Mount-Orient-030716-960Looking east (of course) from Southeast Street in Amherst on March 7, 2016.  That’s not a brook, but a large puddle in a small pasture.   After this I went to Dean Brook for the image I posted yesterday and a few others to follow.

It’s a two-fer Tuesday.  I am dropping off our taxes and it’s also back to work. Enjoy your day. 🙂

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Amherst, Landscape, Nature Photography, Sunrise, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to 03.08.2016 Sunrise over Mount Orient

  1. Jim Ruebush says:

    All it takes is the right opening at the right time. So goes it for sunrises and many other things in life.

    Taxes…I guess I need to start those.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh, gosh, me too!
    I love this image, Steve. About a month ago I was driving home and saw a similar sight against a snowy field. Luckily the light turned red so I had a moment to grab a pencil and paper to sketch it, but what with moving into my new gallery space the painting has languished and I’m having trouble remembering colors.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. The reflection of color in the puddle really completes this one. The photographer in me approves, very much. The farmer in me disapproves, for that spot is going to take some time to dry. Time marches on … crops need to be planted. Even if it’s just a hay field, it’ll need to be fertilized. And getting out on a tractor and spreader requires dry (or at least drier) soil.

    Liked by 1 person

    • The color in that puddle is what caused me to apply my brakes and turn around, David. It is helpful when a scene grabs you and says stop and photograph me.

      For the past few years, that wet spot is a patch of sunflowers surrounded by grasses. It is no longer grazed so the soggy quality doesn’t seem a problem. I am not sure that it is even hayed any longer although it does get cut in the fall.

      Liked by 1 person

      • There is a natural cairn on Rt. 7 somewhere between Bennington and Troy that we’ve been passing, on trips to Ithaca, for quite some time. Each time we pass I say ‘I should stop.’ I haven’t yet. I guess the conditions haven’t called out just yet. Perhaps on the next trip? And then there’s this brook on the return trip, also outside of Bennington. And then there’s this stone foundation … and this old farm house … and this empty field … and this … and this … and. There’s never enough time … is there?

        Like

      • Nope. And even when you’ve had time enough to visit all those spots, the seasons change and….

        So you’re near Bennington. That’s not far. I’ve been up that way a few times to ride along Roaring Brook in the autumn. I have a book you might be interested in by David Middleton (a well-known photographer). http://www.amazon.com/Photographers-Guide-Vermont-Where-Perfect/dp/0881505331/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1457523345&sr=1-1&keywords=david+middleton+vermont

        Liked by 1 person

      • We’re some distance from there. An hour or so north, north east, nearer to Hanover. I’m not sure about the book. I don’t think I like the idea of being told where to go and what to do. I very much prefer the serendipitous. Don’t you? Wouldn’t collecting a number of images from places described in the text be like folks showing up at an event dressed in the very same outfit? You’d run the risk of shooting ‘that bridge … you know the one, all the photographers go there.’ Portfolios would all converge to a sameness – wouldn’t they?

        Like

      • Yes and no. I think I’ve spoken of the herd mentality in icon photography and my dislike of it. However, I am willing to put my own interpretation on special places that allow it. In other words, there are some spots where the composition has been set in stone, everyone shoots in that spot and all the images look similar. But where the is room for further exploration then I am interested. I won’t travel the world collecting icons, but I will travel New England on occasion looking for compositions that haven’t been done. I go to Acadia often and, once familiar with a place, can try to create something that is my own. In my own neighborhood, the Quabbin watershed is quite well phtographed but I think I’ve made some unique images in there. For instance, the image of Monadnock that was used in my announcement. That viewpoint has been shot thousands of times but not like mine that I am aware of. Familiarity with a place opens up vision not seen by the casual observer.
        So…does that make sense?

        Liked by 1 person

      • Absolutely. Well said. Agreed.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Jesse says:

    Beautiful. One of these days I will get up early enough and head to a location to do a shot like this!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. BeeHappee says:

    Wow, as above, down below, looks like some gold leaked out of the sky into the pasture. LOVE this photo. The line and the hairs on the mountain and the complexity of the sky and so many perspectives in it. Really nice.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It was a stroke of luck that I saw the light in the puddle as I drove by with thoughts of other locations swirling around in my mental planner. Peripheral vision and an openness were my buds at that moment. Thanks!

      Like

  6. shoreacres says:

    Whoever painted that sunrise dropped the paint pot. It’s as beautiful on the land as in the sky.

    Liked by 1 person

    • That would be old Sol ( not to be confused with the blog’s visitor, Sol), the painter of all light on the land. Eventually that spot will be a crop of sunflowers but for this spring day the muddy stubble pond became beautiful.

      Like

Leave a Reply

