03.07.2016 More ice

The spot I visited yesterday was not anything like it had been when I checked in this morning.  So I went downstream a bit to Murphy Falls and worked a couple of intimates.

I tried several angles with this one.  It posed a bit of a difficult composition with several extraneous rocks and icicles protruding into the frame.  I think I’ve settled on this angle of view.

Dean-Brook-Icicles-1a-030716-960I realized while driving on errands this afternoon that I neglected, again, to make a video.  I had a few minutes to kill before my second appointment so stopped by a little waterfall in Buffam Brook and did a quick recording.  It was handheld and a little shaky but at the rate ice is disappearing it won’t be around the next time I can be there with a tripod.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Ice, Intimate Landscape, Landscape, Nature Photography and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to 03.07.2016 More ice

  1. Jim Ruebush says:

    The video goes just right with the picture above. Thanks for taking the extra time to record it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Glad to see that you took advantage of the opportunity presented. Who knows how much longer ice will be a potential subject for us? I continue to appreciate the videos and find them interesting, when paired with the still.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I really didn’t feel like going out but knowing that the ice would be gone by the coming weekend was just the motivation I needed. Not sure what to look for in the days ahead. Water, I guess.

      Like

  3. The video is a good one. Didn’t notice any shaking at all. The rushing water is so soothing. And the photo is really different. The ice looks like a shelf. So, if there was hardly any snow/rain where is all the water coming from? Further north maybe?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Yvonne. When you post a video on YouTube, it offers to correct some of the shake.
      We have had rain so between that, the melting of what ice there is and the groundwater, there is currently a good flow. The question will be how much there will be later in the spring and summer.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. shoreacres says:

    Between the solid ice and the falling water, there are streaks of some sort running at an angle across the rocks. Is it light? Mist? An optical illusion? it’s quite an eye-catcher, whatever it is. And I confess to liking the hints of color, especially in the video. Spring’s coming, for sure.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Those streaks, if I am correct about what you are referring to, are bands of water that is passing, at a long exposure, under the rock which the icicles are attached to. I had looked at this as a monochrome, but also like the hints of color.
      Yes, spring is near. We’ll break 70° today. 60° yesterday and tomorrow with lows in the 40’s. It will be spring ephemeral season any day now.

      Like

  5. Love the video~you can practically see the ice melt.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

