03.01.2016 A nice start

I didn’t much feel like leaving the house this morning, but convinced myself that I’d be sorry if I did not at least make an attempt.  So I did and I would have been.

South-Maple-Street-Sunrise-030116-960As I left the house I could see that I had waited too long and hustled over to nearby Hadley which is only a few minutes away.  You’ve seen these trees before but every sky is different.

Afterward, I had to return to Town Hall to tweak things and label the images.  I think it looks pretty good and I will post a couple of shots from the reception.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Landscape, Nature Photography, Sunrise, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to 03.01.2016 A nice start

  1. An unbelievable glorious flaming sky. Doesn’t matter if the trees have been in previous pics. The trees add a great deal in this one of a kind photo. Looking forward to seeing some of your displayed photography.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Just Rod says:

    good omen Steve

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wow. Nice indeed. I have yet to see color such as this up here.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks. One of these days I guess, David. Quite often I see posts on Facebook from the coasts of Maine and New Hampshire that resemble what I see here, sans water of course, so I am surprised you haven’t seen anything like this yet. Are you nestled in a valley?

      Like

  4. Jim Ruebush says:

    What about ‘Red sky in morning…’ ?

    Liked by 1 person

  5. It’s good that you did and that you weren’t.

    Like

  6. shoreacres says:

    Chinua Achebe (author of Things Fall Apart) liked to quote an Igbo proverb: “If you want to see it well, you must not stand in one place.” I think that could be said of time as well as of space.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Very true, Linda. David and I were speaking of this in an exchange on his blog. Very often we see things differently depending on where we stand and often the trip home reveals many unseen things from the trip out. And a subject should be studied from as many angles as possible before deciding on a composition.
      I also shared this video with him that is a great example of that.

      Like

      • shoreacres says:

        What a great video, and a perfect example of something Lawrence Durrell said in his “Alexandria Quartet”: “One step to the left or the right, and everything changes.” So simple, but not always so obvious, and applicable to far more than photography.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yes, quite applicable to most everything in life. I had a job in a factory years ago (I met Mary Beth there) and we were moving a Bridgeport milling machine on a forklift. Well, metal on metal easily slides and there I was between the sliding machine and a steel workbench. I put up my hands and the machine actually pushed me aside. Had I been an inch or two to my left……

        Like

Leave a Reply

