02.29.2016 A good day for hanging

The exhibit, that is.  The hardest part was writing an artist’s statement.  That was the last step in preparation.  I doubt very much that anyone reading it will feel inspired, but at least there is something to read. 🙂

Although most of the ice has melted, as of yesterday-after last night’s mid-40’s there may be none this morning, some was found on a pool in Briggs Brook.  I was drawn to this ice by the lines and reflected color, but noticed the single pine needle.  I’ve titled this “Frozen Surface Tension”.

Frozen-Surface-Tension-Briggs-Brook-022816-960I had to be very cautious with the tripod placement as this ice was quite thin and fragile. At one point, the sheet containing this scene did break away from the surrounding but managed to stay intact.  No doubt it didn’t survive the rising temperature yesterday.

One other little item.

wj-coverYup.  That’s mine.   🙂

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Abstract, Closeup Photography, Ice, Intimate Landscape, Landscape, Nature Photography, Patterns in Nature, Quabbin, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to 02.29.2016 A good day for hanging

  1. Two nice images. I especially liked the cover shot … amazing, really. You should consider posting the artist’s statement you mentioned. You’ve talked about that bit of prose before. I am wondering about its content.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks. One of the perks of early rising is sluggish insects that allow for close approach.

      I’ll post the statement below.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I had never thought of that. Good strategy that I’ll have to remember. I’ve always wondered how you were able to get so close … short of being an insect-whisperer, that is.

        Like

      • That’s one way. Approaching very slowly from eye level or lower helps too. From above says “Predator! Predator!” and that’s not conducive to posing. There are folks who cool their subjects by refrigeration of which I am not a fan. Interfere with the subject’s life as little as possible is a good ethic, imo.

        Like

  2. susurrus says:

    Good luck with the exhibition. Both pictures are amazing in their own way. I’m particularly drawn to the ice one. And I agree, why not share your artist’s statement and ask for feedback? That’s what communities are for. You might get some friendly insight into how others will read it.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. BeeHappee says:

    Wonderful photos. Photos will speak for themselves, so no worries about the words. 🙂 Best of luck and have fun!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Just Rod says:

    The ice photograph is one I can look at again and again, each time finding something new to marvel at.
    I’m also curious to see what the artist wrote, but agree the images speak for themselves.

    Wishing you a successful showing.

    We thought winter had passed by but this morning we are back into a deep-freeze.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. We tend to think of ice pictures as black and white, so all the colors you managed to incorporate here differentiate this view. The array of broad and approximately parallel curves adds to the uniqueness.

    As for the magazine cover, it’s good to see an insect get covered as wildlife. I have the impression that some people include only the higher animals in that term.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve had pretty good luck finding color in ice as prism effects. It’s not too often that I find color reflected from above.

      This editor likes including insects and I have had a few images in the magazine as well as their calendar. He was quite enthusiastic about this one. Hopefully he hears positive reactions to this so there will be more. For this coming calendar (2017) he is looking for, of all things, frogs. I may have one or two.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Here’s my statement. On the sheet to be posted it is all centered but copy and paste didn’t do that here. I’ll see if I can edit it for that.

    Stephen Gingold
    Nature Photography
    Amherst Town Hall Exhibit
    March and April, 2016

    Nature has always been a large part of my life, starting during my childhood spending summers in the Adirondacks and continuing into adulthood. I have been photographing nature subjects in the valley for the last 40 years. There is plenty to see and enjoy close to home; the majority of my images are from within 50 miles of Amherst. This exhibit is made up, for the most part, of subjects found in and around Amherst and the Quabbin Watershed.
    The selection you see here is from the recent years since I switched from film to digital. My processing is in the spirit of the wet darkroom using the digital equivalent of those techniques to express my response to the subjects I find in the field. I do my own printing and matting.

    If you are interested in one of my images, please contact me at:
    413-253-0894 or through my website: http://www.stephengingoldphoto.com

    Liked by 5 people

    • Just Rod says:

      A very modest and informative statement. Hope you get many enquiries and site visits.
      I wonder how you make one of those QR symbols that allie people to focus their phones and tablets and be redirected to your website. I’ve seen them used on other exhibitions and even individual art peices

      Liked by 1 person

      • Thanks, Rod. I am not one to be boastful, despite my announcement. 🙂

        I think that technology is a bit higher than my pay grade allows for. I was listening to NPR yesterday and a story about Amazon “Echo” and pretty soon we will just lie in bed all day while the AI critters run our lives. Yikes.

        Like

  7. Jim Ruebush says:

    Very good, sir. That cover must make you feel good.

    The delicate ice picture looks like an abstract leaf.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Wow, Steve, that is awesome! Congratulations!
    Writing artist statements is the worst, isn’t it? I hate it but having read several, I have come to see their value in giving a peek into an artist’s thoughts. I’m sure yours is better than you think it is.

    As for the ice image, oh my. I can’t take my eyes off it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Melissa.
      Yeah, I’ve done a few now and am coming to the conclusion that the less said the better.

      Funny thing about the ice image…I just barely decided to go to this spot on my way out of the woods. I had a different bit of ice in mind elsewhere along the hike that I had seen earlier and walked over here because “what the heck, why not?” 🙂

      Like

  9. Lyle Krahn says:

    Two different but amazing photos. Congrats all around. Hope the exhibition goes well.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Very interesting views through that thin ice – and….Congrats on the cover shot!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. The ice seems abstract-very nice shot. And it’s marvelous that you have an insect on the cover of a wildlife magazine. Hope you get many more. The frogs ought to make the cover. Wish I were the editor- I’d put one of your princely frogs on the cover in a New York minute. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Gallivanta says:

    Congratulations on these two beauties. The /’aɪs/ and the /’aɪz/ have it. When I say ice and eyes in my mild Kiwi accent they sound incredibly alike. I imagine a close up of the wildlife’s eyes would also show lines and reflected color. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  13. shoreacres says:

    If I were reading your artist’s statement, the detail that would capture my attention is that the photos are decidedly local. Anyone from the area coming to the exhibit, or just passing through from somewhere else, could look at your photos and think anything from “I’ve been there!” to “I could go there” to “I’ve never seen it that way.” Those are all good responses, and will draw people in.

    Like

    • That was what I hoped that someone would come away with, besides a framed print, from the exhibit. I recently photographed the Town Hall; it was in a post here I think. It wasn’t one I would print but that would be something that might be successful.

      Like

Leave a Reply

