02.27.2016 Amethyst Brook Cascade and a Frozen Foam Cake video

After our 60° warm-up the last two days along with lots of rain, the water is running great in our brooks.  I found this one cascade and an interesting icicle that I wanted to photograph. I am not sure if it is an attractive icicle or not, but it did grab my attention. The main star, for me, is the water’s action.

Amethyst-Brook-Cascade-with-Icicle-022716-960

 

I also visited the spot that I photographed a while back with frozen foam cakes swirling around.  They didn’t really capture well for a still shot, but there was a request back then for a video, so I made this:                                                                                                      

We dropped to 15° this morning which contributed to the icicle and I hope there is still some ice to shoot tomorrow after our 40° today.  We’ll see.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Closeup Photography, Ice, Intimate Landscape, Landscape, Nature Photography, Water, Waterfalls, Western Massachusetts, Western Massachusetts Waterfalls and Cascades and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to 02.27.2016 Amethyst Brook Cascade and a Frozen Foam Cake video

  1. Jim Ruebush says:

    I agree there is a lot of interesting action in that top photo. I see a head and two legs hanging down. Thanks for the swirling waters video. Those are good additions to your brook posts.

    Clear here today. Headed for a high in the 50s today and tomorrow.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Scragglecicle might be more apt than icicle, but it’s unique and makes a good subject, especially in conjunction with the waterfall.

    Like

    • There is a nice contrast between the softness of the water and the solid shape of the scragglecicle that I often look for with these intimate shots. It’s not the prettiest of icicles but has a bit of character…like the one Jim sees.

      Like

  3. krikitarts says:

    I see the iceman as well, and he seems to be enjoying his perch very much–and I can see why. I don’t think I’ve ever encountered frozen foam cakes before, but what a great term! Is it one of your inventions?

    Liked by 1 person

    • I may have to change the post’s title to “The iceman sitteth”. I had never seen the cakes until my earlier post. I have no idea if others have seen them, aside from a local photographer who lives near there, or called them by that. But I never heard them called anything, so for now I am taking credit for coining the term.

      Like

  4. Beautiful shot of the water pouring forth. I too see an ice man. I’d say this is an unusual shot. The video was great too with the foam swirling round and round.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’ve said it before … but I envy you the tannins in the water out there. They really add a nice dimension to your water shots. D

    Liked by 1 person

  6. shoreacres says:

    “Foam cake” is also an old-fashioned cooking term, sometimes used to refer to meringues, which are nothing but foamy sugar and egg white. In fact, there’s a dessert called “floating island.” I love meringues, but they’re hard to make down here, because of the humidity. Just as warmth dissolves your ice, humidity dissolves a meringue.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I enjoy meringue although I don’t have one very often. I am sure they are much better on the palate than one of these would be. That floating island looks tasty. A local bakery has a very nice meringue cookie.

      Like

Leave a Reply

