02.14.2016 Frosty Hop Brook Cascade

More from the Wayback Machine.  Although we did have the frigid temperatures that were predicted this morning, the wind never really rose to the level expected so the wind chill did not either.  That said, it was still awfully cold out and probably for the best that I computed instead of shooted.

This is from a January 2011 excursion along the Metacomet-Monadnock Trail in Belchertown, MA.  Belchertown was named for a respected colonial governor of Massachusetts and not what you may be thinking.

Frosted-Cascade-2-FB-800-2013

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Black and White, Ice, Intimate Landscape, Landscape, Nature Photography, Water, Waterfalls, Western Massachusetts, Western Massachusetts Waterfalls and Cascades and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to 02.14.2016 Frosty Hop Brook Cascade

  1. Looks icy cold and ethereal. Very nice capture and I really like this is black and white.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I like the rhyming (if not grammatical) way you put it: computed instead of shooted. Let’s hope you’ve patented your Wayback Machine, and that you did so way back in order to maximize your royalties.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Unfortunately, the Wayback Machine is already claimed by another. And if that isn’t a strong enough claim to the fame there is this.

      Like

      • You’ve become a Wayback Machine yourself. I’d not heard of either of those two. The closest I ever came—way back, of course—to Wayback was Adirondack, which I visited as a child, and to WABAC was NABISCO, some of whose confections I ate.

        Like

      • I figured for sure you had seen Bullwinkle back in the day. What a fun thing you missed out on. Silly but fun.

        As a child, my grandparents (I was the child and not them) had a very small cabin in the small town of Northville, N.Y. on a hill overlooking the Sacandaga Reservoir. Years later I camped in Wells, NY several times. The Adirondacks are a lovely park and I am not sure why I have not been there more recently.

        Like

      • I’m aware of Bullwinkle but somehow never got caught up in that show. The same for Star Trek.

        I followed your link to Northville and the Sacandaga Reservoir and am pretty sure I’ve never been to either one. Likewise for nearby Wells. Now that you’ve been reminded of those places, I hope you’ll plan a return trip.

        Like

      • While at Acadia a few years back, I met a fellow landscape photographer from Syracuse who spends a lot of time in the Adirondack Park. We are FB friends and one of these days I hope to hook up with him there.

        Like

  3. Your story made me remember a Chemistry teacher from high school. Each time he described a chemical reaction which resulted in the liberation of a gas he would say something like, ‘And, the products of this reaction came from Belchertown.’ Although we don’t expect to be as low overnight tonight, we were at -20F last night. That’s getting pretty darn cold. We just got back from one of our VT – NY – PA – NY – VT trips. I had the camera along and was hopeful. After 1000 miles and four days, I didn’t bring home a single shot. I agree with petspeopleandlife … cold-looking shot.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Still, I think I’d giggle every time I saw the sign 🙂 It is good to get deeper into older shoots sometimes, isn’t it? Love this one and like you, I’m still chillin’ indoors. We’ve had snow…

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Another world entirely. Beautiful.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Beautiful image, sadly your assumption about we was correct.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. shoreacres says:

    Your ability to find exquisite combinations of snow, ice, and flowing water amazes me. While I enjoy the ice or the snow — even the water — on their own, there’s somethng about the combination that intrigues me. Obviously, conditions have to be just right for all three to coexist. It’s fun to see.

    Liked by 2 people

    • The major component is cold. The rest just falls into place, so to speak. The combination and speed of exposure goes back to a discussion we had a while back where i mentioned using that to enhance the contrast in textures. Whether in warm weather with water and exposed rocks or cold weather and intricate ice patterns, it’s six of one and a half dozen of the other. And, yes, it is quite a lot of fun which is why I am out there despite my physical dislike of the cold.

      Like

Leave a Reply

