01.28.2016 South Congregational Church

I am mostly about nature photography, but there are occasions when I see a structure that interests me.  I have photographed sunrise from this church’s parking lot, but one morning I noticed the pair of weather vanes and lined up the rooster with the bell tower.

South-Congregational-Church,-Amherst,-June-19,-2011--600WebI was tempted to reverse the image as the directions are opposite what they should be, but that was the uniqueness of the day, I guess.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Amherst, Black and White, Intimate Landscape, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to 01.28.2016 South Congregational Church

  1. Jim Ruebush says:

    High altitude winds often blow in a different direction than low. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Are cylindrical towers like this one common on churches there?

    Like

  3. Gorgeous weather vanes and the photo is gorgeous as well.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Unique and interesting observation, I love that you recorded it in black and white.

    Like

  5. shoreacres says:

    Rooster vanes are relatively common, but that filigree on the top vane is unusual. I don’t remember seeing anything like that before. I did some poking around, and discovered that the Congregational Church in Beverly has the same design, as does an old schoolhouse in Amherst, New Hampshire. There’s even a Weathervane Wednesday, devoted to photos of — you guessed it — weathervanes.

    I suppose if you have weathervanes around, you don’t need a weatherman to know which way the wind blows.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Gallivanta says:

    Would be interesting to know if the weather vanes are ever in the right direction. Perhaps a cylindrical tower creates unusual wind patterns.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

