01.23.2016 Your choice Saturday

Yeah, I know…lame, it’s been done before.  But that was Tuesday and this is Saturday, so big difference.

Anyway, when making this image, my naked eye (not really naked as I wear glasses) could not see the prism and other colors and it was my intention to have this in monochrome.  But upon seeing the color I am now feeling so terribly conflicted.     🙂

The color is pretty cool but the black and white emphasizes the shape more which was my attraction.  What do you think?

Ice-Shaped-Color-012316-700Ice-Shaped-B-W--012316-700I’ve shown you ice prisms before.  As much as I do like them, I am more enamored with the shape, contrast and sense of shine that the monochrome provides to a greater degree.  Having said that, I am betting color wins the poll.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Abstract, Black and White, Closeup Photography, Ice, Intimate Landscape, Nature Photography, Patterns in Nature, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to 01.23.2016 Your choice Saturday

  1. Just Rod says:

    Who can resist a prism.
    Such subtle colour against the greys.
    Don’t snigger at my choice of number 1

    Liked by 1 person

    • Nah, that was a one-time bit of childishness on my part, Rod. I prefer to be the mature adult blogger. 🙂
      I guess I am just clinging to my original intent which is prohibiting my more enthusiastic response to the color. It’s growing on me.

      Like

  2. BuntyMcC says:

    The colour. That’s what a prism is, right? the refraction of light at different angles to create colour. You can still see all your black and white detail and the colour is a subtle addition to the monochrome shot.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m always impressed by how much using black & white makes the detail pop, and how cool those images can be…Having said that the color from the refraction of light is really special, I really like it.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. In my opinion, the black and white is more striking – the color distracts me from the overall image.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. shoreacres says:

    The shape of the second is attractive, but I’ve never seen the prismatic effect before: at least, not with ice. For me, it’s unusual and compelling: not to mention very pretty.

    The color in the first seems akin to jewels on a basic black dress. Perhaps even nature likes to accessorize from time to time.

    Liked by 2 people

    • I’ve shared a couple of ice prisms over the years, but this was the first time I made an image where it was a surprise.
      I can see the jewel aspect which is made more effective by the dark background.

      Like

  6. Jackson says:

    Black and white for me. I think for the color to work, the image would have to be much more fundamentally about the iridescence.

    Liked by 1 person

    • At least black and white is holding its own. Thanks, Jackson. Your critique matches my thinking although I am liking the color a bit more than I expected. As Linda mentions, it is a novelty.

      Like

  7. I’m for #1 one-upping the other. Say the prism is priceless or I have a predilection for prisms.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Gallivanta says:

    Colour it is for me, too.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. bmgphoto says:

    Black and White for me.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Both of these are totally cool, but if pressed, I simply cannot say no to a prism.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I’m with you in general with B&W, but in this case, I think it is really cool how the whole image appears black and white except for those pops of color. I think in this instance, color enhances.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I have to admit vacillation, Melissa. I think the one thing that pushes me more toward the black and white is the appearance of the color having been added- at least in my mind. I see a lot of images converted to monochrome but with one element, like a flower, left in color. It is a very popular treatment but not one I find appealing. Guess I am an all or nothing guy. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

