01.21.2016 More from Amethyst Brook

Here are the final two from my time at the falls on Monday.

I had scouted this spot on Sunday after the sun had risen too high and created strong contrasts.  A mix of bright sun and deep shadows isn’t what I like in locations like this so I just checked things out for the following day.  Overcast worked much better.

The first thing one would notice at this particular time was a gathering of ice cakes floating on the water by a cascade I wanted to shoot.  I don’t look for swirls in water images, but will occasionally make an image with one.  The cakes were non-stop motion, so I lined them up with my cascade.

Amethyst-Brook-Ice-Cake-Swirl-011816-960Web


My main interest here was the cascade with icicles and I tried to eliminate as much of the distracting swirl as possible while still maintaining a good composition with the elements that interested me.

Amethyst-Brook-4-011816-960Web

Although this weekend is starting to not look like the Nor’easter originally forecast for us, the Mid-Atlantic seems the place to be for that, we may get some fluffy stuff.  We’ll see.  If not, there will be ice.

 

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Black and White, Ice, Intimate Landscape, Landscape, Nature Photography, Patterns in Nature, Water, Waterfalls, Western Massachusetts, Western Massachusetts Waterfalls and Cascades and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to 01.21.2016 More from Amethyst Brook

  1. You say the swirl is distracting .. I say, bring them on. I really like the feel of movement that the swirl communicates. I think you’ve done swirls before (perhaps with leaves, I believe) and have really liked the effect. You also chose just the right speed to give a bit of blur, just enough to suggest movement, and allow the viewer to be able to see that there are floating blocks moving around. Our weather will be bright and sunny over the new few days .. so much for the monster storm! D

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, David. I meant it would be distracting if too much was included with the close up shot of the cascade. Yes, I have done a couple, but it’s not something I look for. Maybe I’ll start to do more one the ice melts. Most is pretty solid now.
      So far, as of 3 pm on Saturday not a flake to be seen. The forecast says we could get 1-2 inches, but I am not expecting much. You won’t see any.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Although you’ve often used slow shutter speeds with water moving linearly, I don’t recall any picture of yours with such circular motion. Was novelty part of the appeal for you?

    So you’re thinking of ice this weekend, which is what I hoped for you in the absence of snow.

    Like

  3. shoreacres says:

    I’m glad you included the swirling ice. I always enjoy a glimpse of the phenomenon, and this is a nice example. It’s like a sideshow at a carnival. It may not be the main attraction, but it’s fun to see.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah, it seems to be a sideshow that has become the main attraction after all, Linda. It is something different from the water and ice images I usually make and different is good. More to come when the opportunity arises.

      Like

  4. Jim Ruebush says:

    The swirl adds an interesting and captivating visual hook. But, it does detract from the icicles if that is your goal. The second shot highlights them very well.

    I would have been amused by a short 10 sec video clip of the swirl. Just sayin’.

    Liked by 1 person

    • You pretty much got the “drift” of my intention, Jim.

      I don’t know why I don’t think to do a video. Too zoned in, I guess. I went back to see if I could but everything is now frozen solid. I’ll try to remember in the future.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Gorgeous images, Steve. I love them all. And truly fascinating to a native Southern California gal, like myself. I’m also with Jim, above. Would love to see a video clip (with audio) of those waters in motion. It must sound amazing.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I love the detailed thought that goes into your images…Maybe hoping to not be in the snowstorm of the century is the thing to wish for this weekend.

    Liked by 1 person

    • We’re not getting much if anything at all, Charlie. I would have loved a good old fashioned nor’easter. Although it would create some hardship initially, we are well-equipped to deal with it here unlike the more southerly states. There is very little snow to be seen here so far.

      Like

  7. You photographs always amaze me. What a wonderful part of the world you live in.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Pingback: 02.27.2016 Amethyst Brook Cascade and a Frozen Foam Cake video | Stephen Gingold Nature Photography Blog

Leave a Reply

