01.19.2016 Winter has arrived!

Although we did not have a big storm, there was enough snow to finally have a blanket of white on the ground.  The temperatures have been cold enough to make ice and I shot yesterday until I couldn’t feel my fingers any more.

Amethyst-Brook-Falls-011816-960Web

Amethyst-Brook-3-011816-960WebThere is a possibility for a good Nor’easter on Saturday so the anticipation is building.   🙂

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Black and White, Landscape, Nature Photography, Waterfalls, Western Massachusetts, Western Massachusetts Waterfalls and Cascades and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to 01.19.2016 Winter has arrived!

  1. Jim Ruebush says:

    There are some very interesting icicles hanging about. The forecast says you will have more opportunity for photos like these. Is the gear ready? Snowblower and shovels ready?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lottie Nevin says:

    Incredible. SO beautiful. I REALLY like the first shot. The way ones eyes follow the cascade down. And SOOOO cold and icy. A perfect scene, literally frozen in time.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Lottie. The first is my preference as well. I was not sure about even posting the second…it’s kind of an awkward composition. But I’ve been looking at this section for a while and thought I might as well. It was quite cold- could have been colder, I suppose, but cold enough to make things interesting.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Ahh, now that’s what I’m talkin’ about. Nice. What lens did you use for the second? It seems pretty wide, and without much distortion at the edges.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Stunning shots, but that is definitely winter. That must have been one pretty cold walk in the woods.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Hooray! White at last! Gorgeous captures one and all, Steve. The first image is my favourite. My fingers are crossed for your Nor’easter. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, I.K. Just enough to create a frosting and for me to leave footprints. 🙂 I am a big fan of dense icicles. When I was in school a few millenia ago, I witnessed the after-effects of two winter structure fires. Absolute ice castles. Despite the loss of the buildings (one was a junior college where I and many others were in the middle of class), the end result was gorgeous for a day or two.

      Like

  6. Gallivanta says:

    Such a contrast to yesterday’s post. All beautiful, no matter the day or the weather.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. shoreacres says:

    That top photo’s a show stopper. My goodness. My first response was, “I want to be there.” Are those icicles in the foreground the ones that you used for your recent closeup? They’re the same sort, anyway.

    I just read the latest from my favorite weather weenie. From his report, you can expect to have “conversational snow,” perhaps morphing into “plowable snow.” It sounds like the coastal areas and south are going to have the worst of it. We still have a little time for true winter weather, but it’s growing short.

    Liked by 1 person

    • No, it’s an entirely different photograph and location, Linda. I love finding conditions like the first image. Although very different, they remind me a bit of Monet’s castles.

      Like

      • Hit reply too fast…yes, it is not turning out to be a big storm for us. Still early, but all forecasts are now leaving us with the fringes of the snow. We’ve experienced this pattern a lot the last few years.

        Like

Leave a Reply

