01.18.2016 The Light on Monadnock

Sunday Lovely Sunday.

Mount-Monadnock-from-Enfield-Look-Out-011716-960WebPersistence and rising early can be rewarding.  Rising early is easy right now as sunrise is about 7:15 but I still get up around 4…it’s a habit.

I was hoping for more snow on the mountain, but I can’t complain about the light. While I do wish we had more snow all over, it is nice to have Monadnock snowcapped and lit up with the foreground snowless.  I made about a dozen images of this composition in varying soft light and thought the show was about over when the sun cleared the horizon clouds and hit the mountaintops.  This was the last frame.  Shot with the 70-200 at 137mm with a circular polarizer to help the mountain pop. The bank of clouds above got colorful for about 30 seconds before fading.

We are getting a little snow this morning and might, if we’re lucky, end up with an inch or two.  There’s a chance for more at the end of the week  according to the weather guess.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Landscape, Nature Photography, Quabbin, Sunrise, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to 01.18.2016 The Light on Monadnock

  1. shoreacres says:

    The light is lovely. Even the hills have a pretty, lavender cast to them. It may be slight consolation for the lack of snow, but it does help to set off Monadnock nicely. I’ve seen the weather people I follow muttering about that end-of-week snow. None of them are saying much at this point beyond, “It is six or seven days out, folks — don’t get excited.” But they’re excited enough to at least be talking about it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Our reports are waffling about where the storm will go. We will certainly get some snow, but the amount will depend on the storm track. Right now it appears that the mid-Atlantic will bear the brunt which has been a trend in recent years.
      I have been waiting to see Monadnock lit like that so was very happy and my complaints are just that of a grumpy old man.

      Like

  2. Jim Ruebush says:

    I like the two long streaks across the water. Was there a slight breeze?

    Like

  3. Lyle Krahn says:

    You were there for the 30 seconds – well done.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Persistence and luck are almost as important to a photographer as skill; it is an absolutely perfect image.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Beautiful. Really nice, soft, color. A+

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I’m also hoping for more snow-on-the-mountain, by which I perversely mean a native plant that won’t flower in Austin till late summer when every day is in the 90s. I hope you got your real snow this morning, your cold snow to play with, even if it’s only a couple of inches. Happy white.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I am always thinking positively of warmer times once winter arrives. I admittedly am not a fan of the cold…just what it does to the landscape.
      We are expecting more this weekend and I am back and forth on whether I am hoping for a lot (photographically) or a little (shovel and snowblower).

      Like

  7. I’m sorry that there isn’t more snow at this point. The weather, for reasons we’re well aware, is out-of-whack everywhere. That is a most lovely pink glow, though. Beautiful capture.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah, this weather trend has been developing for a few years now. Strangeness we can live with, devastating not so much. It sounds like we might experience a touch of normalcy in a few days.
      Thanks, I.K.

      Like

  8. “Light on Monadnock” (1-18) fills me with perfect peace. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. So I guess that massive snowstorm NASA was tweeting about missed you. I do hope you get the moisture you need. That said, this image just makes me happy. It is glorious, all the more so knowing you were watching and clicking as the light changed. Another photographer would have missed it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

