12.29.2015 “until the well runs dry”

You won’t miss images of Monadnock until….  🙂

It’s the mountain that just keeps giving and giving.  This is a location that I’ve not shot from before as far as the mountain is concerned. It’s also a good sunrise spot but not on this past Saturday.  More nice pink northern light though.

Mount-Monadnock-from-New-Salem-122615-2-700WebIt probably looks similar to this image from Enfield Lookout posted on 12/1 but you will notice the lack of valleys.  It’s interesting that quite often when the sun is blocked to the east the sky to the north gets this nice pastel light.

FB is no longer telling me how many posts I am at, but it seems I am getting close to 600.  Whether that has any significance or not is debatable.

About Steve Gingold

I am a Nature Photographer with interests in all things related. Water, flowers, insects and fungi are my main interests but I am happy to photograph wildlife and landscapes and all other of Nature's subjects.
This entry was posted in Landscape, Mountains, Nature Photography, Sunrise, Western Massachusetts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to 12.29.2015 “until the well runs dry”

  1. Beautiful with the subtle pinkish sky color. I think counted about 7-8 layers but then I can only count up to 5 and I was then pushing my luck. 🙂 At any rate it’s a gorgeous scene and I’m wondering how many versions you have of this viewing area.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. shoreacres says:

    What interests me most about this photo is that if someone put it in front of me with no information, and then asked, “Where do you think this was taken?”, I’m not sure where I would place it. It bears some similarity to places in Texas, or the foothills around the Great Salt Lake. Even the shrubs have the kind of srubbiness that could belong in several areas.

    Liked by 3 people

    • Someone from around here might recognize the silhouette, but it does have kind of a common outline, I imagine. One of the drawbacks to staying close to home is not being familiar with other parts of the country save from the images shared by others.

      Like

  3. Beautiful capture. Those pinks and blues are fantastic. I love how one can stand in the same spot at different times of the year, different times of the day and obtain amazingly different images.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. You may have photographed these places more than anyone else alive. Have you considered leaving copies of your pictures (most likely in digital rather than printed form) to the relevant museums or government agencies in that area?

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Really lovely, Steve. When I am at the Lake, I actually prefer to gaze out over it (to the East) at sunset, for these same gentle hues.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Gallivanta says:

    600 photos this year?

    Like

Leave a Reply

